We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth trying for something new - and returning for the food!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Caspian

Cafe Caspian
12126 Westheimer Rd # 100, Houston, TX 77077
(281) 493-4000
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #46 of 7,221 Restaurants in Houston
Price range: $0 - $15
Cuisines: Middle Eastern, Persian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
162 helpful votes 162 helpful votes
“Worth trying for something new - and returning for the food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

We had dinner there, and were just delighted with the flavors, textures and new dishes. The KASHK –E BADEMJAN (eggplant dip ... a puree of toasted eggplant with sautéed onions, garlic, mint, and Persian cream) was just delightful - especially with the wonderful fresh and hot naan-like bread they serve - and keep on serving until you stop them. For the main course, we split the MAHICHEH (a spring baby lamb shank, Sabzi Polow, and lamb broth) - and it was more than enough.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

95% Recommend
    28
    10
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
League City, Texas
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Delish”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

Everytime we go into Houston, which is really only when we need to go to the Galleria, Pottery Barn Kids, or Central Market, we make sure to eat here for lunch or dinner. This place is so GOOD. Make sure to get hummus. umm umm good. I tried making homemade hummus since eating theirs but of course it's not as good. Theirs is perfection. I also tried making whole grain pita bread hoping it would be like theirs but nope :(! They also give you taftoon bread, feta cheese, mint and radishes as a free appetizer. I have cravings for that. I keep telling myself I need to get the ingrediants so i can make it at home. I have had the koobideh which is excellent. my favorite is the beef chenjeh, but make sure you get the mast-o khiyar to dip it in. always delish when we go. it always hits the spot.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent food every time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

My family and I eat here at least once a week and have never had a bad experience. The atmosphere is cozy, the outside is beautiful will flowers everywhere, and the staff is always nice. This is the only place I go for a Great Kabob other than home!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Great Persian Food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We've been going to this restaurant for years! Everything is delicious, always! It's tempting to order too much and their tabun pita is divine, everyone is going out with doggie bags, it's hard to decide what not to eat and the portions are huge! The persian dishes are explained in the menu. Full of Persian patrons, big family gatherings as well as couples and others, very warm atmosphere. We'll be back!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Unique and Yummy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

Great appetizers...unique main dishes...nice facility. Best meal we've had in Houston in a couple of years.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Caspian also viewed

 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Cafe Caspian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Caspian, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.