We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb meal!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pappas Seafood House - Hwy. 59 South

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Pappas Seafood House - Hwy. 59 South
3001 S. Shepherd at Alabama, Houston, TX 77098
713-522-4595
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #49 of 7,230 Restaurants in Houston
Price range: $35 - $50
Cuisines: Seafood
Good for: Families with children
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Superb meal!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

I was stuck at an airport hotel doing a layover in Houston while returning from Mexico one night last month and stumbled into Pappas in Humble. It was simply a great meal. The location and decor is typical Texas, so there is not much to talk about there. The service, though, from the greeters to the servers, was excellent.
The food made the experience worth it even more, both in taste and in the generosity of the portions. I asked for some bread and they brought me a fresh, warm, and delicious whole baguette. I ordered an appetizer that turned out to be almost a meal in itself. It was a "Crispy stuffed avocado" that was filled with almost a dozen shrimp in a creamy remoulade topped with pico de gallo that had just the right taste and level of spicyness. My entree was the "Grilled Caribbean Lobster Tails" served with mashed red potatoes and fresh vegetables. They were actually two full lobster tails that had been halved and grilled to perfection. They were tender, yet fully cooked. I asked for a butter reduction instead of a red sauce and mixed it with a little of the pico de gallo that I had reserved from my appetizer, which made for an even tastier dish. They have an adequate wine list (nothing too fancy here) that includes half bottles for solo diners, and I ordered a Kendall Jackson Chardonnay that went really well with the meal. All in all, the whole experience was very satisfying.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    8
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New Caney, Texas
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Always excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We have been eating at Pappas Seafood House in Humble for over 20 years. Both of our daughters plus one son-in-law worked there part time during high school and college. We don't eat there as often as we did in those years but we still visit from time to time. However your prefer your seafood - fried, grilled, blackened, etc. Pappas has something that will suit your taste. The Greek Salad is a must for us whenever we dine there regardless of what entree we select. The staff has turned over numerous times through the years this location has been open but the quality of food and service has remained high throughout. Would not hesitate to recommend to anyone that enjoys seafood.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Waterford, Ohio
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good seafood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

I had the shrimp, stuffed blue crab and crab cakes. It was very good. Excellent service and it was very fast. Good value.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saraga1908
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“great dinner!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

Went with a work group, i don't eat seafood so i got the chicken. on a tuesday night the place was at capacity - that says something! food was great and so was the service. nice location and atmosphere

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Family Business”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

We ate there twice! Food is just great!!! We love seafood and it was nice to share these meals with my siblings and my son! Great service, quick and quality, fresh seafood! Love the Greek salad, fondue and fried oysters!!! Even enjoyed the seafood gumbo on the second visit...good food!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pappas Seafood House - Hwy. 59 South also viewed

Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Pappas Seafood House - Hwy. 59 South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pappas Seafood House - Hwy. 59 South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.