We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality product spoilt by inexperienced staff” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Texas Land & Cattle Steakhouse

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Texas Land & Cattle Steakhouse
12313 Katy Fwy, Houston, TX 77079-1503
(281) 679-9900
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,095 of 7,288 Restaurants in Houston
Cuisines: Steakhouse
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Quality product spoilt by inexperienced staff”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

The reception was muted when they realized that there was only one in the party who wanted to sit at a table and not be ushered into the bar.

The meat was exceptional, prepared as requested, but the staff showed a little insecurity with lack of knowledge of the product. When asked how long the meat had been aged for the reply was it was corn-fed cattle - not old cattle! As a diebetic I drink Diet Coke, which through the rotation of different waiting staff became full sugar coke at a top up. When asked for a change they returned the same product. This is not acceptable.

The room itself was smoky from the log fire burning in the stone built fireplace.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    27
    20
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good food, fantastic survice, a little pricey.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

Good TX chain steak house. Steak was very tender, and cooked appropriate amount. Good heathy 'steamed' sides options. A little pricey, but service was excellent so worth it.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

The service & food are great. I prefer my steak well done & they achieve this without turning it into a piece of leather! Not all restaurants can do that.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“OK for a Houston steakhouse”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

No real complaints or compliments. This is a middle of the road Texas steak house. Nothing special about it.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Medium at Best”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

We had a group of 20 for a birthday party on a Saturday night. We were seated quickly as we had reservations for weeks in advance. The atmosphere is Cracker Barrel style with their cookie-cutter "individuality" handing on the walls. I understand that working large parties isn't exactly fun for the waitstaff but it just seemed that the absolute minimum effort went into taking care of us. Our drinks weren't refilled without flagging down an employee. As for the food, it was serviceable. Houston is filled with steakhouses and the food wasn't remarkable in any way. I had the Signature Smoked Sirloin and it was alright, they did cook it as I ordered it. To be honest, Saltgrass does it just as well. My recommendation? If you're just stopping in somewhere to knock out lunch it's fine. If you want a premier steak try elsewhere. Just my opinion.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Texas Land & Cattle Steakhouse also viewed

Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Texas Land & Cattle Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Texas Land & Cattle Steakhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.