We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad Food at Goodson's” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Goodson's Cafe

Goodson's Cafe
27931 Tomball Pkwy, Houston, TX 77375
281.351.1749
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #439 of 7,278 Restaurants in Houston
Cuisines: American, Delicatessen
Good for: Families with children
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Sammamish, Washington
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Bad Food at Goodson's”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Goodson's Cafe was a disaster for a party of 15. All vegetables were overcooked and had no flavor. The Chicken Fried steak, the landmark item was 85% fried and 15% meat.. How about some unfried meat and crisp vegetables? Highlite was great drinks

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    34
    20
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Southern Fried Homestyle Cooking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013 via mobile

Ate here with two other families after soccer game. Did drive out of our way to eat here. I grew up on this type of food and not available really in San Antonio. The appetizers were great. Fried Mushrooms were gigantic and onion rings were good. Chicken Fried Steak was tender and I loved all the extrs batter. Note, Gravy is served family style with rolls. Rolls were great. Gravy could be better. Not bad once I seasoned it. I grew up on homemade gravy so I am pretty hard to please. I had side order of sweet potatoe fries which was a full basket. They were delicious. My favorite side happened to be the baked squash. Also, I tried the Banana Pudding. It was okay. I was just happy to be somewhere that served it. The chocolate pie looked delicious. Several players ordered hamburgers. They were huge. Know that the small order of chicken fried steak is large! Overall, I loved eating here. Only complaint, I ate til I was sick!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilgore, Texas
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“Oh my goodness good....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Went to eat with a group of about 20 and were accommodated within a few minutes. Waitress was great. Kept our drinks and rolls coming...Food was ordered and served in a timely manner and food was great. Lots of fried food but you can ask for it grilled or baked and they are happy to cook it for you like you want. If in the area would gladly eat here again....

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugar Land, Texas
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Tasty Country Eating”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

I do not go to Tomball, Tx but when I do I have not many options since all there is around there is Mexican food. After hearing about Goodson’s Café being a top must have in Tomball the foodie in me said I had to see what the fuss was all about.

The atmosphere is very cozy and definitely country feeling. A lot of regulars and there is a long line wait. This is a clear sign of a real good restaurant. The food plates are pretty big and can be shared. The kid’s plate is a pretty nice size as well.

Overall I enjoyed the food and next time I hear I must try the chicken fried steak.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX.
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Really good homestyle food here”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

I always love coming here. I went in March of 2013 for lunch one day. I had the smothered chicken. I loved it. It was a grilled chicken breast with mushrooms and monterry jack cheese, and two sides. I had the okra, and rice. You will get a roll with your meal as well. The roll should be in a food group all its own, its pretty awesome. If you like Chicken Fried steak, this place is great for that too. The Chicken Fried Steak falls off the plate it is sooo big!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Goodson's Cafe also viewed

Tomball, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Tomball, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Goodson's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Goodson's Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.