We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Real Italian in Clear Lake” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Frenchie's Italian Cuisine

Frenchie's Italian Cuisine
1041 Nasa Rd 1, Houston, TX 77058
(281) 486-7144
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #40 of 7,287 Restaurants in Houston
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Lunch, Reservations, Delivery
Houston, Texas, USA
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Real Italian in Clear Lake”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Friendly, family-run restaurant. Seems a bit chaotic at first, but everything ends up fine .. it's an real Italian, of course!! We had Seafood Fra Diavolo - fantastic sauce, lots of flavor and a nice 'picante' touch, with plenty of seafood. Also the filet with mustard sauce - to die for, nothing Italian about this, but first class, and the only place I have found this dish prepared Belgian-style in Houston area. And finished sharing a chocolate mousse, great! My only negatives: (1) too heavy on the portions relative to Italy, but then this is Houston; (2) could do reservations on a weekend night, but in fairness our wait was short.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    18
    1
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bartlesville, OK
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Excellent Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

One of the very best restaurants I have eaten at. In a shopping center on NASA Road a short drive west of the Space Center. You need to be on the westbound service road of NASA Pkwy to get to it. From the outside, it seems like such a plain place. A 1960-1970's shopping center.
Inside, tables with tablecloths and linen napkins. Photos of Italy and famous astronauts.

Wife had Manicotti with cheese; I had Fettucine with Salmon. Both came with a salad. Huge portions. The sauce was wonderful; one of those secret family recipes, I suppose. The waiter was the best. "Would you like me to answer any questions about our menu?"

One of the best meals I have ever had. Will definitely go there again if we are in Houston area.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Best food in town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Looks shabby on first glance, then you see all the famous astronauts in photos, with their amazing reviews of the place. And they weren't lying. Amazing, healthy food, and no skimping on the portion size either. And some of the friendliest people in Houston.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“An excellent place to eat.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Frenchie's has been here for years - and there's a reason - reliably good food and a friendly atmosphere. Highly recommended.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Best Eggplant Parmesan on the Planet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Frenchies is a small, family owned and operated Italian restaurant down the street from the Houston Space Center. Been here since all the rockets went to the moon. Frankie, the owner, is a delight. The eggplant parmesan is the only thing I ever order since its the best on the planet. Fresh baked for you even at lunch. Hot, bubbly, perfect sauce, fresh basil, served in an large oval ramekin. I eat half and take the other half home for my lovely bride.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Frenchie's Italian Cuisine also viewed

 

Been to Frenchie's Italian Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Frenchie's Italian Cuisine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.