We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Dinner” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fogo de Chao Brazilian Steakhouse

Fogo de Chao Brazilian Steakhouse
8250 Westheimer Rd., Houston, TX 77063
713-978-6500
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Fogo de Chao Brazilian Steakhouse is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #10 of 7,726 Restaurants in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $51 - $51
Cuisines: Brazilian, South American, Steakhouse, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Business meetings, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Buffet, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Houston, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Awesome Dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Tremendous meal, food kept coming and coming...Service was execellent wine list was even better. Overall, highly recommend to anyone who has a hardy appetite.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

680 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We just visited this restaurant for the first time this weekend and it was fantastic! I have to say I was hesitant because I am a very picky eater and hardly like steak, but it was gret because you can tell them how you like your meat cooked and they cut you off exactly what you want. They have a fantastic salad bar with many different things. It is kind of expensive but once you realize how much your getting it is worth it. I would reccomend to anyone aven if you try it once.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kortnie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton, IL
Level Contributor
152 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Just okay for me”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

This was my second trip to a Fogo De Chao. Don't get me wrong, lot's of meat and plenty of selections. They keep it coming. Salad bar is nice. Overall, very pricey. My meal was $79.00, and I had one glass of wine. I guess it's more of an experience than anything else. If you haven't done it, go, especially if you want meat. For me, and for the cost, I would prefer a nice steak house.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Clinton_ILCruiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Conan the barbarian”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

This place was great. I went with a former colleague and fitted the bill perfectly for a couple of guys looking to have some good quality wine and meat. The fillet mignon was superb and the buffet style accompaniments were of similar high quality. Service was also very attentive.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Menu_Sleuth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
70 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Go Hungry!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Perfect for people who like red meat. Since I knew in advance that I had a reservation here, I made sure to have a lite lunch. In fact, I knew a week in advance that I was coming here so I tried my best not to have red meat during the week too! This is my first time here. Decided to bring my girlfriend for her birthday. Made reservations online at OpenTable.com. Place was easy to find, can't miss it. They offered complimentary valet. We were seated right away. Hostess and waiter asked if this was our first time at Fogo and they explained how it worked. Each patron had a coaster sized disc which is red on one side and green on the other. When you are ready, flip it to green and the servers will come to you with a selection of steaks, lamb chops, sausages, and chicken. They will slice a small portion of whatever you like for you. Flip your disc to red and enjoy your feast. When you are done or if you are still hungry, flip the disc back to green and more food will be brought to your table. Pretty neat concept! They also have a wonderful salad bar. It was very well maintained and well stocked with fresh veggies and everything else. Very generous to also offer decent quality smoked salmon and prosciutto. I must say this was one of the best salad bars that I have been to. Back to the meat, everything was cooked perfectly. I prefer my meats cooked to medium rare and that is what I got each time. The sausage and mini chicken legs were my favorite. The lamb chops were also very good. The atmosphere was very mixed for a Friday night. There were plenty of well dressed people but also plenty of people dressed like they were at a local McDonalds. Wished they had a dress code. There were also a lot of families celebrating birthdays and special events. Lots of couples. Tables full of friends and girls night out. Everyone seemed to be enjoying the food and having a great time. It was very vibrant with lots of laughter. The service was above average. All of our needs were anticipated and met, sometimes without us asking. All in all it was a very fun and enjoyable evening. I had one glass of wine. The bill came to $126, add on tips, I paid $150. $75 per person at a place like this is expected. We skipped the dessert and coffee so add on another $30 or so if we had stayed and ordered those items. I would definitely come back here again for special occasions or when friends are visiting from out of town. To me, this is a better option than a traditional sit-down steakhouse.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mjbbg572
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fogo de Chao Brazilian Steakhouse also viewed

 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Fogo de Chao Brazilian Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing