We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never disappointing” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fogo de Chao

Fogo de Chao
8250 Westheimer Rd, Houston, TX 77063
713-978-6500
Website
Menu
Update restaurant details
Reserve with OpenTable
Update
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #11 of 7,145 restaurants in Houston
Price range: $51 - $51
Cuisines: Brazilian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Buffet, Late Night, Private Dining
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Never disappointing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

I love the concept. There is a great salad bar with much to choose from. The meat is always delicious and it's great that you get all you can eat! My husband has a healthy appetite. When we want a nice steak dinner, it's usually about $50 for a tiny piece of meat. Here, he is able to eat until his heart's content! I love the choices and the cheese rolls on the table are crack!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

91% Recommend
    253
    110
    26
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Lack of dress code devalues the product”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

What others have said regarding food and service is true, however the extremely casual attire of many patrons last night totally devalues the experience and the product. We were a table of 8 by the fabulous salad bar. Not only were jeans, tshirts and tennis shoes on display, but also gym shorts and tshirts. A dress code of, at a minimum, business casual should be enforced to go hand in hand with the pricing and quality of food and service.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, Texas
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Best Brazilian experience that I have ever had”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

The food is by far the best experience that I have ever enjoyed at a Brazilian restaurant. However I want to talk about the servers. The quality of service at Fogo’s represents of how restaurant service should be. For example, my water glass never fell below half full when they filled it again. The staff was also very prompt to bring the delicious food just at the right intervals.
I highly recommend this place if you want to impress a client or a potential customer.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“OK, for my birthday, I love Fogo De Chao”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

You know that I would pick my most favorite for my birthday, well-- it is Fogo de Chao. Not just because of the great food, or the great salad bar, or the great service -- but also for the variety.... You can take a sample of this and that. You really don't have to make up your mind. Try Roast lamb the way you like it, or try beef, or try pork, -- a sliver of each, all cooked to perfection to spark your taste buds. ...MMMMmmm
Then, to top that off, as though you could, -- try their Strawberry Creme.
I con't know what it is but I think it is something like Vanilla bean icecream with fresh strawberries and a hint of liquor all blended into a heavenly light desert. You won't forget FOGO DE CHAO!!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Oak, Texas, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“What the others won't tell you...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Fogo de chao has moved up to my #1 spot to eat while in Houston.
Make sure you try your best to get a reservation and even if you do there's a wait specially around 6-8. We waited 1.5 hours before we could get seated but the wait is more than worth it once endless food starts arriving on your table.
Food is top notch, filet mignon wrapped with bacon was my favorite. Salad bar (for this people on diets) is huge.
Overall for a price of $51.50 per person (total 111.50 after tax) the experience is well worth it and I would greatly reccomend it.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fogo de Chao also viewed

Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Fogo de Chao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fogo de Chao, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

You added Fogo de Chao to your Saves list