We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great diverse buffet options to please everybody” 4 of 5 stars
Review of East Star Chinese Buffet

East Star Chinese Buffet
1025 Nasa Pkwy, Houston, TX 77058
(281) 280-8822
Improve this listing
Ranked #736 of 6,953 Restaurants in Houston
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Chinese, Sushi
Dining options: Buffet
Restaurant details
Dining options: Buffet
Friendswood, Texas
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great diverse buffet options to please everybody”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Good assortment of foods to allow something for any taste. Usually has a good assortment of Chinese fare, with sushi and soups, but also offers a limited but diverse American buffet selection with pizza, fried chicken fingers, French fries, ice cream, and more. A good place if you have a crowd that can't agree on "taste" or have varied ages in your party. Good service and food for a price generally about $10 for the meal & beverage.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    16
    5
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Breinigsville, Pennsylvania, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Good Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Came on a sunday night, Restaurant was very busy, food was fresh and tasted great. Great flavors, some spicy. Desserts were better than i expected at a chinese buffet. I especially liked the graham cracker cake.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merida, Mexico
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Still good and worth the money!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Little has changed since we last ate at East Star. The food is still as good as you can expect on a buffet and the price remains reasonable. Good service, lots to select from. What more can you ask from a Chinese buffet? [Or any buffet for that matter.] if you are on the South side of Houston close to NASA it is an excellent option.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manvel
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Best buffet ever!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

This is the best chinese buffet I've ever found and I've been to a lot. The crawfish are the best out of any restaurant and the rest of the food is fresh and tasty. If someone finds a better chinese buffet please let me know!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merida, Mexico
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Not as good as the last time.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

What makes a restaurant a really great place to eat is consistance. I have been to East Star many times, however, this last trip it was not up to standard. Several things I had were over salted (easy to do in a restaurant but still not an excuse) and some things over cooked (slightly burned).

I gave it a second try before leaving Houston and it was a little better but still not up to standard.

There are many things to select from and I am sure the average person will be quite happy (I was kind of happy with the meal but I know it could be and has been better).

I would still say if you are on the South side of town to give it a try. Maybe the head chef was on vacation.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed East Star Chinese Buffet also viewed

 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to East Star Chinese Buffet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage East Star Chinese Buffet, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.