We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good for Houston, but, if ever in Los Angeles,” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kenny & Ziggy's New York Deli

Kenny & Ziggy's New York Deli
2327 Post Oak Blvd, Houston, TX 77056-4704 (Great Uptown)
713-871-8883
Website
Menu
Update restaurant details
Ranked #13 of 7,145 restaurants in Houston
Price range: $1 - $30
Cuisines: American, Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: Great Uptown
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Very good for Houston, but, if ever in Los Angeles,”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

This place used to be my all time favorite place for the best pastrami sandwich in the country, but, now their my second favorite. Don't get me wrong, Kenny and Ziggy's has an excellent pastrami sandwich to offer, but Capri Deli in Covina, Ca. has taken the number 1 spot, at least for me. The pastrami at Kenny and Ziggy's is very tender and made on site, but I find the roll they use is very hard and dry. Overall, if ever in the area, and feel like a pastrami, this is the best Houston has to offer and it is pretty good!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

88% Recommend
    183
    81
    25
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Mineral Bluff, Georgia
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“The Best Deli Around”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

OMG! This is the best pastrami that I've ever had and I grew up in New York City. The corned beef is great too. These sandwiches are "built" like the legendary NYC deli sandwiches are "built". We had "kreplach" and great french fries too. There is plenty of meat between the slices of fresh rye bread. Folks, if you're looking for "NY Deli" in Houston, this is THE place.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warminster, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“A taste of New York in Houston”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Just had the pleasure of eating several meals at this great deli in Houston. Located near the Galleria, they offer a complete deli menu including pastrami, corned beef, and other Jewish ethnic food. We found the quality and taste to be equal to the best New York city delis. In fact, it was so good that we managed to squeeze in three meals during our one-week visit to Houston.

Prices were reasonable, taste was delicious, and the decor made you feel as if you were sitting in one of the great NYC delis. Sturgeon and sable, frequently priced out of sight at other delis, were available for the same price as the lox.

We had the opportunity to meet Ziggy, the owner. He is originally from the lower East side of Manhattan, where he learned the trade. Highly recommend, to complement your visit to Houston.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston,TX
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“DELICIOUS DELI”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

When in Houston (or if you live there) do not miss going to the only "REAL" New York deli
in the city. I have been going for years and every time I order (or anyone else does) the food is just the best! It is a wonderful place to eat, and visit with friends and family and enjoy the delicacies of a real deli.The portions are huge and you always have leftovers, so you can enjoy your meal again. The mish mash soup is out of this world!! The desserts are large enough to share for at least four people and so fantastic! Not to miss place when in Houston, right in the heart of The Galleria area.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gonzales, LA
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012 via mobile

Talk about a fantastic place. Past by here one weekend on October. The food was amazing and reasonably priced for the portion you got. Will be back.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kenny & Ziggy's New York Deli also viewed

Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Kenny & Ziggy's New York Deli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kenny & Ziggy's New York Deli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.