We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average at best” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Los Tios Mexican Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Los Tios Mexican Restaurant
14006 Memorial Dr, Houston, TX 77079-6844
(281) 493-4700
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #765 of 7,287 Restaurants in Houston
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Average at best”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

Los Tios is one of those restaurants that amaze people who love Mexican food... and that's not a good thing because Mexican food lovers are amazed they are still in business. The food is a bit better than your typical fast food taco place. The prices are reasonable but that's not a good enough reason to go back. You can do much much better in Houston while spending only slightly more.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    10
    4
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Blanco, Texas
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Most excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

The cocktails were worth the price. The food was outstanding. The wait staff was attentive. It was a real nice experience.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“If You Like Tex Mex, This is the Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

There is nothing fancy or pretentious about this restaurant, but be prepared for real Tex Mex. The wait staff are courteous and attentive. The atmosphere is family friendly and many times you will see three generations of families dining together. It is a Houston establishment with great consistency in service and food quality. Their combination plates are always a good choice. Never turn down the pralines when they are offered!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Hit or Miss”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

I can honestly say I've been visiting Los Tios with my family for nearly 40 of their 42 years in business, and ever since the original owners sold out it's always been hit or miss. (I miss ya Rosemary!!!)

Personal favorites usually include the queso puff, the tacos al carbon, and the margaritas. Oh, the MARGARITAS!!!! (The Presidente Margarita NEVER fails to disappoint!!!)

Great happy hour with a nacho bar for an inexpensive light meal and a drink or two.

Today's lunch (other than the Presidente Margarita) was DEFINITELY a miss! I ordered the #6 combo (taco, queso puff, and cheese enchilada). The queso puff looked like it was topped with an unwrapped slice of Kraft American Singles. It was ORANGE and HARD, with very distinct lines on the sides of the puff. It was NOT the creamy yellow queso I know and love that oozes over the puff and surrounds the puff in cheesy goodness. Just looking at it was unappetizing...and it tasted just as bad as it looked. The taco was bland, and the cheese enchilada was hard in the middle and barely warm.

This was one of my grandfather's favorite restaurants, so it holds many special memories for me. Unfortunately, I have to rely on my memories of "the good old days" when I'm longing for nostalgia.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good family Mexican restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

I meet with a large group of friends every year in Houston and we always start our trip with dinner here. On Friday nights, it's full of families enjoying the end of the work week. The food is good, the service is patient, the location is easy to get to. I always have the fish tacos. The restaurant is large enough to accomodate our group (20+ people) on a Friday night.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Los Tios Mexican Restaurant also viewed

Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Los Tios Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Los Tios Mexican Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.