We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Houston's Best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Tiempo Cantina

El Tiempo Cantina
5602 Washington Avenue, Houston, TX 77007 (Great Uptown)
(713) 681-3645
Website
Menu
Update restaurant details
Ranked #20 of 7,133 restaurants in Houston
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Great Uptown
Houston, Texas, United States
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Houston's Best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

I have been eating here for years. In my opinion, my VERY experienced opinion (!!), this is the best Mexican restaurant in Houston. Its really a Tex Mex place but, still its the best. The fajitas are the best you can get. And, the margaritas are my favorites in town. Service is really great too. Ask for Victor and you wont be disappointed!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

89% Recommend
    68
    23
    9
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Clive, Iowa
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Well worth a cab ride in Houston”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Last night I had a meal that ranks in my top three lifetime meals at Mexican restaurants. I and four co-workers took a cab ride from our Galleria-area hotel to El Tiempo Cantina at 5602 Washington Ave. We were in the mood for Mexican food, and I found this place ranked as #16 out of 2,800 Houston restaurants on TripAdvisor. This place lived up to its billing and more. All five of us raved about our food, and are still raving this morning. I had the Pechaga Monte Mar, a sauteed chicken breast with shrimp, mushrooms, and salsa. Absolutely fresh and delicious. The guy next to me had the carnitas, or slow-roasted pork chunks with avacados, sour cream, and tomatillo (can't remember what that last item was). The pork was served atop a flame-lit warming pan. I was told the meat was fantastic. The menu at this place is very broad, and has a number of unique / distinctive items. Servers were attentive and provided good recommendations. It would be very difficult to find better Mexican food than this.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“The good, the bad and the rest at El Tiempo”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

The good - if you are looking for a salad served with whipped cream look no further. The mango jicama salad was fantastic sweet and crunchier it looks like plate of French fries so even little ones can be fooled into trying it. The dirty rice and the tenderloin fajitas had great flavor it wasn't greasy and was attractively presented where food did not run together on the plate.
The bad - maybe ordering something other than a margarita at a cantina is tempting fate but one at the table got a mojito. The color was off, it was the bright green of a shamrock shake. And it was made with a mint syrup that tastes like Scope or creme de menthe. Stick to the margaritas they are properly sour and in a cactus glass, how can you go wrong.
The rest - if you prefer do it youself, you can get a small charcoal stove to grill you meats which helpfully broken up into both pounds and number of people served. This can be fun or maddening if you are really hungry. The variety of food huge so those who are at a loss should turn to the last page for small portions and mix and match.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“My favorite tex mex”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

It's hard to judge tex mex in Houston. There are so many great places to choose from, and it's really hard to screw up tex mex (that is, in Houston. Had tex mex in other places that's just awful). However, El Tiempo is probably the best. Just get there early on Friday and Saturdays or plan for a wait.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rumson, New Jersey
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Great Food & Fajitas in Houston TX”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

This is a very cool place with great energy and food, The Fajitas are super-sized eating and highly recommended. This place can get crowded on the weekends, with standing room only space. Come during the week and avoid the crowds. There is valet parking but overall parking space is limited. Wine list was very limited so stick with beer or margaritas!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Tiempo Cantina also viewed

Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to El Tiempo Cantina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Tiempo Cantina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.