We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Tex Mex” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Tiempo Cantina

El Tiempo Cantina
5602 Washington Avenue, Houston, TX 77007 (Great Uptown)
(713) 681-3645
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 7,215 Restaurants in Houston
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Great Uptown
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Tex Mex”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Took a group of 18 to El Tiempo on the recommendations from Trip Advisor and loved the place. I would recommend sending out the menu to your group ahead of time as it is a FULL menu with lots of great options. The service was at a casual pace, so don't be in a rush, but was friendly and accomodating. Food is top rate and I appreciated being able to make a reservation weeks ahead of time.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    28
    11
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, Louisiana
1 review
“Delicious.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

My wife and I took her little sister their for dinner; we thought it was delicious. We started with the house chips and salsa. Her little sister had gotten the Charro Plate which consisted of a beef taco, a pork tamale, and a beef enchilada. I ordered the chicken enchilada and my wife had gotten the Allegro Plate which consisted of a cheddar cheese enchilada, pork tamale, and a flaunta. It was all very filling. All dishes came with rice and beans. For dessert we shared a Tres Leches. Yummy! (what her little sister said after she took her last bite.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

This restaurant is a huge spectacle that seems to cater to tourists, but we loved it and spent two hours there for lunch. The food is delicious and they appear to do quite a take-out business, so maybe locals like it too.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“The best Margaritas I ever had!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

I was a regular at El Tiempo on I-10 before they had to shut down for the freeway expansion and then became a regular at the El Tiempo on Washington. Consistently, for the last 12 years, they have been my favorite Mexican restaurant in Houston. Service is great, the food is supperb and the Margaritas are unlike any you can find, anywhere. Although a bit crowded, waiting for a seat can be a good experience with the Margaritas and the munchies.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great food and atmosphere!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

My niece and I ate here last Friday night as it is her favorite place. I was not disappointed! I had a fried avocado stuffed with chicken and it was fabulous. I've never even seen an entree like this before. Very efficient service and quick seating. Valet parking is available which we had to use because there aren't that many self parking spaces.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Tiempo Cantina also viewed

Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to El Tiempo Cantina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Tiempo Cantina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.