We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Filet Mignon ever!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pappas Bros. Steakhouse

Pappas Bros. Steakhouse
5839 Westheimer Rd, Houston, TX 77057-5616
(713) 780-7352
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Pappas Bros. Steakhouse is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 7,288 Restaurants in Houston
Price range: $26 - $80
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Between Chimney Rock & Fountain View
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Best Filet Mignon ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Ate here for a business summit. Cannot say enough about this steak, no sauce required! Perfectly juicy and cooked to an award winning medium and rested just long enough, I can taste it again just typing this! Sides of au gratin potatoes and asparagus were also spot on.

Service from the waiters and staff was incredible as well as friendly. Top notch dining experience, recommended for all!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

535 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    391
    111
    22
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A truly fantastic meal!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013 via mobile

Visiting Houston on business and we were sent to Pappas for dinner. Wow! What a treat. The selection of wonderful steaks was amazing and we all had something different and each of us raved about the flavor and the terrific side dishes. And the dessert cart is to die for. GO HERE.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Quality Steak House”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Pappas Bros Steakhouse is a great example of a top notch restaurant in Houston. Not only is the food outstanding but waiting staff is friendly and knowledgeable. I never miss any opportunity to dine at this establishment. This steak house offers 14-15 different varieties and sizes of USDA prime steaks on the menu along with other choices and scrumptious accompaniments. Wine list is one of the best constructed wine choices in entire United States. If you love great food, quality service in an upscale and relaxed atmosphere, then look no further, as you have arrived at Pappas Bros. Steakhouse!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“FIRST CLASS STEAKHOUSE near Galleria”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

I love living in Houston...we have some of the greatest restaurants in the world! Papas Brothers Steakhouse is an outstanding example of our first class steakhouses - Texas Style!

My hubby & I enjoyed a romantic Anniversary Dinner there recently. Just too wonderful for words. Our steaks were cooked to perfection & superb flavor and quality. Service fantastic. Ambience was upscale-Galleria-style. Valet parking was 'Johnny on the spot' perfect.

Great destination for business, pleasure or a romantic evening!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Loud but good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

The food is wonderful - apps through dessert. My only complaint is that when it is crowded, which it is often and deservedly so, it is very loud and kind of takes away from the experience. Another complaint is their wine list is often out of date - you order a wine of one vintage and they bring you a later year, saying they ran out of what you ordered. It's understandable given how big the list is, but at the prices they're charging you'd think they would take more care with the list - maybe have an insert or something. Heck, just handwrite it on all the lists; I'd rather that than get the wrong wine.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pappas Bros. Steakhouse also viewed

Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Pappas Bros. Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pappas Bros. Steakhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.