We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Valentine lunch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sorrento Ristorante Italiano

Sorrento Ristorante Italiano
415 Westheimer Rd, Houston, TX 77006 (Neartown/ Montrose)
(713) 527-0609
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Sorrento Ristorante Italiano is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #30 of 7,487 Restaurants in Houston
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $41 - $80
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Neartown/ Montrose
Cross street: Whitney & Taft
Spring, Texas
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Perfect Valentine lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

Hubby took me here for Valentine's Day, and it was a lovely experience. We had the 3- course tasting menu, which was served at a leisurely pace. Favorite choices were the minestrone with lentils and the pressed chicken entree. The little chocolate souffle was outstanding. Wonderful bread selection, too. Good service, and the red rose for each lady was a nice touch. Enjoyed it all.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    15
    6
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“too much”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

we love Sorrento for the decor, service and the wonderful bread basket and the charming piano music; but the chef has gone off the rails on us for our taste--too many overkill sauces and way too much for a palettte to absorb-my foie gras was loaded with roquefort-both assertive and not friendly: too rich and competing for dominance.. There are many mentions of truffle oil that most chefs decry. Heavy hand will make us go elsewhere-

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
185 reviews 185 reviews
152 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“Old School and I Love That!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014 via mobile

Had dinner at Sorrento last night. I love this place-- great food and a quiet atmosphere where you can actually hear what your dinner companions are saying without having to read lips. We had a lovely table in front of the fireplace. We dined to live piano music that added just the right feel. The food was true Italian and done very well. This place in a little bit like stepping back in time but in a very good way.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Very nice ambiance”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

The ambiance of the restaurant is great, our food was good but not to die for. We arrived early and decided to seat at the bar…. it took the bartender almost 10 minutes to pay attention to us. Obviously he was very busy, but then they need to get him some help. He had ZERO personality, no smile, no nothing. After having our drinks we went to get our table, the two young ladies at the reception area the same thing ZERO personality they were NOT welcoming at all. The only thing that saved the night was our wonderful waiter Anthony who was funny and helpful although it took a while to get our main course…. not his fault though, the restaurant was busy. The bill was pretty high too …. we love Da Marco which is not expensive but it is very consistent with their food, services, etc….we just wanted to try something new. Maybe we did not have good luck that night.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Worked for me”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013 via mobile

Nice place for good tasting food. I had the squash almond soup which was great and short rib that did melt in my mouth. Low lighting can make it a date night. Good options on less expensive to (12 dollars glass) very expensive wine.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sorrento Ristorante Italiano also viewed

Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Sorrento Ristorante Italiano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sorrento Ristorante Italiano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.