We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best steaks in the world!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Taste of Texas Restaurant

Taste of Texas Restaurant
10505 Katy Fwy, Houston, TX 77024-1001
+1 713-932-6901
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 7,273 Restaurants in Houston
Price range: $22 - $60
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
bangalore
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Best steaks in the world!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

I was in Houston on a business trip and was looking to whet my appetite with some authentic Texas steaks. I visited Taste of Texas on the recommendations of my local colleagues. There was no waiting time to get in as I was warned, though I went at around 1 PM on a weekday. I ordered a Texas T-bone 20 oz and while I was waiting for it to be served, our server Laura suggested I try Jumbo Lump Crab cake - this is a heavenly generous serving of crab meat(no shell) mixed with Parmesan, Cheddar and Provolone cheese. Remoulade sauce and lemon are added for extra flavor. I devoured it and ordered another. The T-bone arrived a little later and was cooked to perfection. There is a salad bar but I wasn't interested as I was in a very carnivorous mood. The staff are very friendly, polite and warm even on a busy day. The restaurant has lots of Texas culture - cowboy clothing, guns, other hunting equipment which also included some stone age stuff, saddles, lassos and even a stuffed bear. I didn't get a free red bandana being a first time customer but was least bothered. I visited again the next day and had the crab cake, jumbo grilled shrimp and a Center Cut Filet 10oz steak. The experience was only better than the previous day. This place is a must visit for every foodie especially steak lovers.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

854 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    570
    207
    47
    14
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Houston
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great ambiance”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

This place was highly recommended so we were really looking forward to eating here. The salad bar is really really good. The steak? Ok, nothing extraordinary ..... but then I'm not a steak girl

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Delicious steaks....go later at night to avoid wait time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

We went over the Christmas break 2012 after having read many many reviews. We called ahead to get an estimated wait time (was told 45min to 1.5 hrs) and got there around 8:30pm. Thankfully we were seated within 20 minutes which was very surprising but I guess a lot of people cancel/leave upon seeing the wait time. But that 20 minute wait could have been a lot longer and we would not have minded. They have free drinks, popcorn & wifi in their waiting area with lots of seating available. The waiting area seems like part of the experience itself.

Our server (asian guy, forgot his name) was super entertaining and knowledgeable about his steaks. If you don't know what you want, I'd recommend asking your server. I ended up getting hte 6oz fillet with the garlic sauce. He even took us to the back room where we got to pick out our own steaks. The steak was a perfect size for me especially with the high end AYCE salad bar avaialble.

Overall, great experience (free red bandanas for first time customers), delicious food and a good family memory. It is a bit pricey but it was not a normal every day meal for it so it was okay.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Woodlands, Texas
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“If you want THE BEST go to Taste Of Texas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Absolutely the best steaks, service, and salad bar that you will find in Houston and perhaps all of Texas. High quality steaks that are cooked to perfection and a diverse salad bar with all the appropriate sides. They only take reservations for large parties so you may have to wait, however not long, as the restaurant is large.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Food is really good, homemade bread, great salad bar, amazing beef and a great service. All attendants are very well trainned.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taste of Texas Restaurant also viewed

Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Taste of Texas Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taste of Texas Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.