We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New and Improved” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Buffalo Grille

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Buffalo Grille
4080 Bissonnet St, Houston, TX 77005-4021 (Greenway/ Upper Kirby)
(713) 661-3663
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #451 of 7,276 Restaurants in Houston
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: American, Delicatessen, Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Neighborhood: Greenway/ Upper Kirby
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
238 reviews 238 reviews
196 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“New and Improved”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

The new Buffalo Grill on Bissonet is nicer in many ways to the former very popular eatery. The dining space is larger including a very large outdoor space and the selection of foods is much more varied. Breakfast is still wonderful and served all day long. I especially like the strip steak at a great price with very good flavor and my wife loves the chicken fried chicken and the grilled vegetables. One of our favorites for local dining of home style food for sure.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    37
    14
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 102 cities Reviews in 102 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Quantity Over Quality”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Not a bad experience for a hungry eater. Food is just average, but your get a lot for the money. Forget about any special requests, it just comes out of the kitchen the way it is. A popular spot for decades with families, students, and folks on a tight budget. It may have slipped a little but it's still very popular and offers generous portions.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisiana
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Breakfast was good.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

We had a group eat at the Buffalo Grill. We arrived at 8:40 and to our surprise, no line. Five minutes later it was out the door. The food was good but a little greasy for me. The portions were very large and the price was reasonable. Most of us had eggs and grits or hashbrowns. It is a good place to eat but the lines can be long at times. Also, they don't want you to save a table while someone else orders. I watched the tables clear as fast as the new customers look for a place to sit. It seemed to work well. There was a large outdoor area to sit and eat too.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
169 helpful votes 169 helpful votes
“Good breakfast”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

The Buffalo Grille is great for breakfast. In a city full of fantastic restaurants, I am rating it average because it is not a gourmet establishment. It is a good pancake, bacon, egg, migas, type of restaurant. We eat here a lot.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
“Beware of Seating Restrictions”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

We made an honest mistake today in "holding a table"-- didn't understand what that meant at first and certainly didn't get a polite explanation of what that meant, but what we did was enter the restaurant and place our kids at a table while the adults ordered food-- seems normal enough. On top of that the table we took previously had friends of ours sitting there. We just took over their table when they left. Literally as my husband was ordering our food, someone came up to tell us we couldn't "hold a table". So, all six children had to get up from the table. Didn't realize we were breaking a rule. Apparently, you have to order your food, then you can grab a table. Well someone had complained that we were "holding a table". The funny thing is that the gentleman who complained and got our table actually got his food after us. Obviously, my husband must of been right behind him in ordering. Craziness is all I can say. Just learn from our mistake. Yes-- we did notice the signs after the fact. Certainly wasn't looking for such a sign to read "No holding a table while in line". The food was just average. Whoever came up to me to tell us to move was not friendly about it at all-- that was someone who worked at the restaurant maybe even a manager. Just our experience.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Buffalo Grille also viewed

Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Buffalo Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Buffalo Grille, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.