We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best presented Sushi” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Uptown Sushi

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Uptown Sushi
1131-14 Uptown Park Blvd, Houston, TX 77056 (Great Uptown)
(713) 871-1200
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Uptown Sushi is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #416 of 7,200 restaurants in Houston
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Great Uptown
Cross street: Post Oak
Lugano, Switzerland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best presented Sushi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Fabulous Sushi. Very pleasant service and very professional. We went for lunch but I wanted to return for a very classy dinner. The atmosphere is exceptional , not at all like most sushi places

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

78% Recommend
    19
    18
    7
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“love it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

I always go to this restaurant for sushi when I come to Houston. I like the atmosphere and the food is great

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
houston tx
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent sushi and fun atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

I have been going here for years. The sushi is always excellent and atmosphere always lively. Highly recommend!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great food but turn down the AC”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

We had a great time on Saturday night over the Memorial weekend, but the AC was so high we were shivering like crazy. Fun and cool atmosphere.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good location, good food, ok service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Uptown Sushi has greatly improved from a few years ago. The food is good and fresh, but the service is slow because the sushi chefs wait until your entire order is complete before it is served on a single plate. If you are in a hurry or am very hungry, you might want to skip Uptown Sushi. On my most recent trip to Uptown Sushi, the waiter clearly had either the flu or a cold because he had a pink, runny nose. When he went back into the kitchen, we heard him squeeze twice. I can't believe that the restaurant management would allow such an non-hygienic practice of having sick waiters serve customers and spread germs. This completely ruined the dining experience for me.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Uptown Sushi also viewed

Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Uptown Sushi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Uptown Sushi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.