We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, fun atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Willie G's Seafood & Steak House

Willie G's Seafood & Steak House
1605 Post Oak Blvd, Houston, TX 77056-2902 (Great Uptown)
713-840-7190
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Willie G's Seafood & Steak House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #284 of 6,949 Restaurants in Houston
Price range: $14 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Bar scene, Doing business, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Great Uptown
Cross street: San Felipe
Mississippi
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Good food, fun atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We ate here recently with a large group of friends. Everyone enjoyed their meals and our server was very efficient and personable. I would recommend eating here when in Houston.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    31
    18
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
178 reviews 178 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Positive anticipation going in... let down going out”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Went to Willie G's with a group of co-workers, who had been previously, and all had very positive things to say. I rarely order seafood from any menu - that's just not my general style - but I decided early to get the shrimp scampi for some reason. I focused in on a chardonnay that I liked to pair, and placed my order - the wine, a wedge salad with ranch instead of blue cheese, and the scampi. The wine I received did not taste "fresh" - I had recently had the same wine and it wasn't quite the same here. I didn't say any thing, knowing it could have been my finicky taste buds. The wedge I received was first a ceasar salad, then with some shifitng around was finally the wedge with ranch I requested - except it also had the chunks of blue cheese. Ok, I didn't specify that with ranch dressing also meant no blue cheese chunks, my bad. Then the scampi came, and it was a good pile of angel hair, with six shrimp sitting on toast on either side of it. The pasta was generally dry (vs. other scampi I have had) and the shrimp was ok, but not overly flavorful. If that is where the night ended, I would have marked this as average, but the extreme stomach pains I encountered at 1 am, with nothing other than the Willie G's in my stomach, that's what knocked this down a notch. Will strongly encourage co-workers to go somewhere else when we get together next time.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vail, Colorado
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“delicious!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Loved this restaurant. Great service and atmosphere. The menu was extensive with a lot of seafood dishes to chose from. Loved the cajun influence! The location is in the Galleria area. Great for a wonderful lunch.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galveston, Texas
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“One of Galveston's best dining establishments”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

I must say, Willie G's is one of the best restaurants in Galveston. The service is generally exemplary but I've had a lousy waiter a couple of times. The food is very good and for a high end restaurant it's a good value. I don't mind paying for quality and top notch service and Willie G's has both.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richmond virginia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

Came for steak. The steak was served room temperature and mine was under cooked. Also we didn't think it was high quality meat. My wife couldn't eat hers and it was taken off the bill. Had happy hour half priced margaritas and peeled shrimp and fried zucchini which was very good. Skim milk served with the coffee. Took forever to get water refilled. Maybe the fish is better.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Willie G's Seafood & Steak House also viewed

 

Been to Willie G's Seafood & Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Willie G's Seafood & Steak House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.