We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food & service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Willie G's Seafood & Steak House

Willie G's Seafood & Steak House
1605 Post Oak Blvd, Houston, TX 77056-2902 (Great Uptown)
713-840-7190
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Willie G's Seafood & Steak House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #255 of 7,288 Restaurants in Houston
Price range: $14 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Great Uptown
Cross street: San Felipe
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great food & service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

My wife & I love the oyster bar trash. Anything fried is awesome too!!! The service is always excellent and the servers are very friendly.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    26
    16
    6
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“It's OK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

It's in the neighborhood and walking distance from home, otherwise I wouldn't have visited it 4 times in the last 3 months. Their food is consistent and the Happy Hour has good prices.

I generally walk because they suffer from the same valet problem that too many Houston restaurants foist on their customers. Where I’m from, valet parking is installed only when there is a dearth of parking and the valet then truly provides a service to the customer. In Houston, the valet creates a lack of parking spaces by blocking off all of the nearby spaces, forcing the customers that don’t want strangers driving their car, to park too far a distance from the front door. The customers then have to walk past the reserved, empty valet spaces on the way to the front door

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugar Land Texas
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Noisy Atmosphere but Excellent Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We went there for lunch with a friend. She knew the manager who had worked at a restaurant that she and her late husband regularly frequented. We got excellent service, but the noise level is so high that it is difficult to talk. I had the stuffed flounder with baked potato and green beans. The green beans were under-cooked but the flounder was very good. The others had pecan crusted trout and they were pleased with it. The prices are high so this is not a value pick.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Birthday Celebration”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

The resturant was decorated very nicely. We were seated in another area after asking not be close to the front door. The waitstaff were friendly. The food was not as good as I expected. The shrimp were very small though the menu said jumbo.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Very good fish”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

The Isberg Wedge salad was extraordinary in flavor and originality. The risotto side was very good. The fish was the best I have taste in months

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed Willie G's Seafood & Steak House also viewed

Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Willie G's Seafood & Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Willie G's Seafood & Steak House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.