We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfort food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lai Lai Dumpling House

Lai Lai Dumpling House
9262 Bellaire Blvd, Houston, TX 77036-4502
713-271-0080
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2,857 of 7,200 restaurants in Houston
Restaurant details
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Comfort food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

The first time I went to Lai Lai Dumpling House was over 20 years ago, as one of many college students who flocked to Lai Lai for inexpensive Chinese food. My favorite items at Lai Lai are the green onion pancakes and the hot and sour soup, which if the larger size is ordered comes in a bowl that's really more of a vat - it's huge! I sometimes order the lo mein, which is greasy but still a nostalgic favorite. The dumplings are somewhat average, to be honest. My daughter loves the General Tso's chicken. Although Lai Lai is not the best restaurant in suburban Chinatown, it's a comfortable and inexpensive spot that does a few things quite well and it well worth being part of your regular rotation of Chinatown eateries.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7 reviews from our community

71% Recommend
    1
    4
    0
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Houston, TX
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Yummy!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

Wonderful food, plentiful servings. We had so much food ended up taking a lot home, but that is okay because there are some great leftovers to look forward to having! Dumplings were great, couldn't decide so got the sampler assortment. It is a hole in the wall restaurant for sure, but if you are adventuresome it is worth the visit!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katy, Texas
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Still really good!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

My daughter's come in from college and ask "can we go to Lai Lai's?"
Went there on January 2nd. Dumplings are still great. Soup still really goo and in a huge bowl.

Still a great deal for the price.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katy, Texas
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Unique, quaint, and very GOOD”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011

I have been going to Lai Lai’s for about 2 years now. It is Quiet and Quaint. The food is really good and prices are awesome.
Only improvement i can suggest is to have the tables wiped down more often. Ironically, this is the result of customers arriving in rapid succession.
Excellent value and a definite change from a Chinese buffet.
The Sweet and Sour Cabbage is a must.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lai Lai Dumpling House also viewed

Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Lai Lai Dumpling House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lai Lai Dumpling House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.