We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“first restaurant I go to when I am in the Houston area” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Thai Cottage

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Thai Cottage
3995 Richmond Ave, Houston, TX 77027 (Greenway/ Upper Kirby)
7136230707
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #575 of 6,949 Restaurants in Houston
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Thai
Neighborhood: Greenway/ Upper Kirby
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Greenway/ Upper Kirby
Costa Rica
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“first restaurant I go to when I am in the Houston area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

I am always on the run when I go to houston but lunch at the Thai cottage is a must. Authentic thai cuisine at a reasonable price. You won´t be disappointed if you are looking for a quick bite without the fast food taste

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    5
    2
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Katy, Texas, United States
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Unbelievable food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Delicious Thai food! My favorite plate is pad see ew and it is out of this world. A good appetizer is shrimp mermaid

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“coconut”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

cuisine worth trying with quality ingredient and good service... atmosphere is relaxing the coconut shrimp are excellent

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“You might get lucky.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012

A bit inconsistent on spiciness and entree flavors. I have been twice, once pretty good and once fair. I would go back, but only if I was nearby!

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Good Red Curry”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

I eat here occasionally for lunch. I usually get a lunch special, the L8, red curry or the L13 the chicken pad thai. The service here is quick and the food is cheap. One major drawback is the parking. Someone decided it was a good idea to make a parking lot with spaces about 18inches smaller than standard so while you can pull your car into a spot, you may not necessarily be able to open your doors. Well they came back and drew new lines on the parking lot to aleviate this problem but they forgot to erase the old lines so now you have no idea where you are supposed to park. I suggest getting there at 11 or at 1:30 for lunch because this place gets packed, and there's no parking. Anyway, back to the food: The lunch specials run about $6.99 and you get a soup or salad (I suggest the salad with peanut dressing) a spring roll and an entree. If they ask how spicy you want your pad thai, tell them not at all, that chili runs the flavor. I once was shocked they asked this question and got the 2 out of 5 spicy and it about burned my mouth off! I think someone wrote down 5 instead of 2. Inedible! The red curry is really rich and creamy and complements the rice quite nicely. Today's Pad Thai lacked flavor, salt perhaps because the chicken was very bland. The food can be hit or miss sometimes but when it's good, it's really good. Usually by the time I leave here at 11:45 there are people waiting in line at the door to get in so it's a popular place to eat. The decor is nice inside, kinda has this upscale yet industrial feel to it. There's a fountain inside too. I do like this place but it's not something I can call "excellent."

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thai Cottage also viewed

Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Thai Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thai Cottage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.