We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Julia's Bistro

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Julia's Bistro
3722 Main St, Houston, TX 77002-9504 (Midtown)
713-807-0090
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Julia's Bistro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #976 of 7,288 Restaurants in Houston
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Mexican, South American, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Midtown
Cross street: Alabama
Transit: Julia's bistro is located along the MetroRail line. Ensemble/HCC stop.
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This is one of my favorite restaurants. It has a charming feel and the food is absolutely amazing. Every time to can I visit. From the Valet to the waiters to the bartenders they are all gold stars in my book.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    3
    7
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Houston
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Garlic Lover's Paradise”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

A creative menu that could be really good if every dish was not overwhelmed with garlic. We tried several pork dishes with various vegetables and the highly acclaimed taco appetizer, but we generally disappointed with everything.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Right off the train line”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

Had lunch with a group in this small corner lot right off the train line. Valet parking a big plus! The restaurant seemed overly dark inside and a bit messy. Our soups were fantastic! The wraps were disappointingly bland, but our waiter obligingly brought out a spicy sauce to help. Service was perhaps a bit too relaxed.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“very good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

I enjoyed this quaint little bistro. Some very tasty food in a very inviting atmosphere. The whole experience was a nice blend of flavors.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

Set on a corner in downtown Houston, on Main Street, you can watch the traffic, people and train go by as you sip on a mojito, which is exactly what I did. The mojito was the perfect blend of sweetness and punch. For starters, my friend had the ceviche, which came on a large platter surrounded by homemade tortilla chips. The fresh shrimp, jicama and fish were enough to feed 3 people. I had the soup of the day, tortilla soup. It was not like any I have had before and the texture was grainy because of the ground tortilla chips. The fresh cilantro and small amount of cheese added to the flavor. It was ok, not the best tortilla soup I have ever had. It came in a large bowl and could have made a meal along with a salad.

For an entree I had the salmon which was cooked perfectly and had a crispy crust. My sides were chipolte mashed potatoes and spinach. The potatoes had an orange tint and perfectly spiced and unlike any potatoes I have ever tasted. The spinach was seasoned with garlic and olives (how unique!) and was salty and tender and I wish I had more.

My friend had the red snapper and it was very mild and not "fishy" at all. Her sides were jalapeno risotto and snow peas. The risotto was creamy and had a nice kick from the jalapenos. I normally don't order risotto because it is rarely cooked correctly but here it was perfect. The snow peas were sweet and crisp.

The portions of both entrees were large and I took half home and the left overs were just as delicious as the night before.

For dessert we had the cayanne chocolate mousse. WOW. A creamy mousse and just when you think "where is the heat?" the cayanne hits the back of your throat. WOW. Very very tasty with a wonderful, soothing texture.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Julia's Bistro also viewed

Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Julia's Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Julia's Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.