We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok but hoped for better” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Julia's Bistro

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Julia's Bistro
3722 Main St, Houston, TX 77002-9504 (Midtown)
713-807-0090
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Julia's Bistro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #669 of 7,200 restaurants in Houston
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Mexican, South American, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Midtown
Cross street: Alabama
Transit: Julia's bistro is located along the MetroRail line. Ensemble/HCC stop.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Ok but hoped for better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

We dined at Julia's on a Saturday evening to celebrate our daughter's birthday. We ordered their pre fixe menu, a special Rodeo menu, thinking we would get a nice introduction to the types of things we would find on the menu. It was just ok. The service was a bit slow and there weren't many people in the place. Our steaks were tasty but a bit tough. When we left, we walked out the back door and into a crawfish boil where the restaurant was selling crawfish for $6/lb. Somehow, after spending so much on dinner, we felt the whole thing a bit odd. One really good thing: free valet parking, which is a big help in this part of Houston.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

57% Recommend
    8
    3
    7
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
322 reviews 322 reviews
143 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
“Pleasant restaurant for an enjoyable meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2011

This was my 2nd visit to the restaurant. This time I ate of the tapas menu for a variety of good food with a definite Spanish flavor. Really enjoyed the beef croquettes and the mushrooms, but everything was very favorable. The desserts were a little bland, or after all the spices of the tapas, I didn't taste them as well. The Argentinian Malbec the waiter suggested was excellent, and was at the lower end of the price range for the wine list. Service was excellent. Look for their specials and special offers to get a good deal.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“"Way way way OVERPRICED!!!"”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011 via mobile

Don't go here if you are hungry; because you still will be when you leave.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AJGUK
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good food- High price!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

Food was excellent- we had the tapas. Service slow, portions small and very expensive for what you get (and we went on a travel zoo promotion and still thought it was pricey)- a shame as the prices have put us off from going back, which we thought we would do while eating the food.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, USA
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“Food is good, but you may leave hungry”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2010

I took advantage of a Travelzoo special to try Julia's. It was $59 for a dinner for 2 (plus tax/tip) so we thought it was a cool place to try. The place is nice, the food is quite good, but the only place that I have ever had smaller portions is in Boulder, CO... and that's why they are skinny there!

For what you get, it's very overpriced, so I will stick with another place.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Julia's Bistro also viewed

Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Julia's Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Julia's Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.