We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never again” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Captain Benny's Half Shell

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Captain Benny's Half Shell
8506 S Main St, Houston, TX 77025-2703
(713) 666-5469
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #747 of 7,288 Restaurants in Houston
Price range: $0 - $12
Cuisines: American, Seafood
Restaurant details
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Never again”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013 via mobile

We attempted to eat at Capt Benny's and finally walked out after waiting for our food for 45 minutes. My brother in law did get his gumbo and it was so so. We each ordered a mixed basket and never got it. We saw one of the cooks in the kitchen eating as well which turned us off. The menus were sticky and and pieces of food still stuck to it and the tables were sticky as well. Such a horrible experience.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    12
    5
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Climax Springs, Missouri
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
“Good Local Spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

We ate dinner there looking for some good seafood. Not to shabby. Had fresh oyster and shrimp as a appetizer. Then spit a fried fish dinner. It was good. We had better but Bennys is good and simple. Cute building, looks kind off like a fishing boat.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake of the Ozarks, Missouri
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Good food, and lot of take outs”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We tried Captain Benny's, and found the seafood to be good. Like any fried food it was a little greasy, but that is what happens with fried. There is a neighborhood bar atmosphere, and most are return customers. There seemed to be as many carry outs as those dining inn.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fargo
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Captain Benny's South Main Street”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Wonderful fresh seafood restaurant with fresh shucked oysters and great Gumbo. The staff is so friendly. Sonya the waitress is smiling and helpful. Feels like family there. I have been to lucch twice and dinner once. Not fancy,but great for food and friends.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“The best gimmick ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

Its shaped like a boat. We refer here all the time, and our employees eat often. The portions are generous, and the quality of the food is hard to question, but the stand out, is the service, and atmosphere, small enough to be intimate, but not so small as to be a whole in the wall. It feels like a boat, it looks like a boat, and the food tastes like it is just off the boat.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Captain Benny's Half Shell also viewed

Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Captain Benny's Half Shell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Captain Benny's Half Shell, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.