We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, average service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Aquarium Restaurant

Aquarium Restaurant
410 Bagby St, Houston, TX 77002-1510 (Downtown)
(713) 223-3474
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #345 of 7,200 restaurants in Houston
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Downtown
Dayton, Tx
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great food, average service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

The food was good but the service was lacking. We had a reservation and a Landry's Select card. We got there 10 minutes before our reservation time. When we presented our Landry's card to be seated immediately, we were told that we had to wait because the server had not arrived for his shift yet. We waited for an extra 15 minutes before we were seated. We had a good seat next to the fish tank. The server was friendly and courteous but not knowledgeable of the fish in the tank. He said he would be able to answer any questions about the fish, but he gave some silly name to the shark, when we asked what it was. Overall, it was a great meal, but not great service.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

60% Recommend
    58
    65
    56
    16
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“A+, Cool experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

We were in Houston for a Trade Show and I chose our first night to dine here at the Aquarium. So glad we went. The food and drinks were incredible as well as being able to watch all the fish in the aquarium. Large food portions and romantic atmosphere in the evening. It was a unique experience and I would return in a heartbeat!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valparaiso, Indiana
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Entertaining!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Ate here when visiting the aquarium for the day. The food was tasty and I enjoyed the ambiance. It really reminded me of a much smaller version of the Coral Reef restaurant in Disney's Epcot.

We dined here in the afternoon during the week, so it was not crowded. The wait staff was pleasant. The food was delicious. A tad pricey but to be expected. You don't mind paying a little more when the food is good, and the portion sizes are decent.

The fish tank they have is lovely and well maintained!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katy, Texas
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Fun day”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013 via mobile

I chaperoned a group of senior citizens to the Houston Aquarium. The experience was really fun. Although the restaurant was extremely expensive, the food was tastes. The large tanks of fish were beautiful and our server was an excellent hostess. She helped to educate us about the fish in the tanks and some the history f the Aquarium and the white tigers that live there. We enjoyed a very fun day.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Fun place to eat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

The restaurant is part of the Houston Aquarium complex but you can eat there without having to go to the aquarium. This is certainly not a fine dining experience so don't expect a white tablecloth service. The menu looks like the typical fast food menu associated with this kind of venue but the food actually wasn't bad at all. Our appetiser was almost certainly a pre-prepared dish that had been been reheated so was nothing special but our main courses (seared Mahi Mahi / Paella respectively) were really quite good. The shrimp on top of my fish had definitely been flame grilled and were delicious. The best part of the experience though is that there's a massive tank of fish in the middle of the restaurant and it's probably bigger and better than some of the exhibits in the main aquarium. Good value for money all round.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aquarium Restaurant also viewed

Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Aquarium Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aquarium Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.