We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Memorable & Delicious” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Star Pizza 2

Star Pizza 2
77 Harvard St., Houston, TX 77007
713-869-1241
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #149 of 7,273 Restaurants in Houston
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, Pizza & Pasta, Sandwiches
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Lunch, Delivery
Description: In the summer of 1976, Henry "Hank" Zwirek and his buddy, Ed, both native Chicagoans, grew tired of living in the windy city and relocated to Houston. Hank realized the burgeoning city lacked high quality pizza and delivery service (which was a norm in Chicago). In the summer of 1976, Henry "Hank" Zwirek and his buddy, Ed, both native Chicagoans, grew tired of living in the windy city and relocated to Houston. Hank realized the burgeoning city lacked high quality pizza and delivery service (which was a norm in Chicago). Acting on Hank's instincts, the two purchased a quaint two-story house on Norfolk and in October of 1976, a Star (pizza) was born.Business continued to thrive and Hank was eager to expand. In the summer of 1988 a second Star was born, affectionately named Star 2. The offspring of the original was located at 140 S. Heights Blvd. in the building that's now home to Chatter's.The original Star is still located in the house on Norfolk, and continues to offer the same homely atmosphere as it did in 1976. To this day the Zwirek family owns and operates both locations and thanks their loyal Star Pizzanites for their support throughout the years.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Memorable & Delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

A recent 4 day weekend in Houston, haunting museums...we needed real sustenance...PIZZA.

Had researched Trip Advisor and found this Star rated well. STAR restores my faith in these ratings....it is TOP notch start to finish.....huge menu, so you can get cannaloni, lasagna, and great sausage. Pizza by the slice too.....SUPER FIND!

We have yet to find great pizza in Austin and Dallas (when we lived there 10 years ago) had few and far between....so this was beyond a real treat......great pizza at a fair price with a good selection of wines, beers, and sodas to accompany. The salad was large and good too.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hank Z, Owner at Star Pizza 2, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thanks for stopping by Art L0ver! We're glad you enjoyed our selection of food and drinks as well as our pizzas by the slice. We hope y'all come back to Houston more often!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    37
    9
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“no better pizza”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

we order from Star Pizza in the Heights once a week. it is always fast delivery and the pizza is consistently awesome. i have tried just about every pizza place in Houston and still have yet to change my ways.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hank Z, Owner at Star Pizza 2, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Thanks for being such a great customer Rory and thanks for the great review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Best pizza in Houston”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

We have not been there recently, but go there every chance we get. All their pizzas are excellent. My favorite is the veggie on whole wheat crust

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hank Z, Manager at Star Pizza 2, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
Thank you Carlos for the great review! We're glad you love our veggie pizza! Hope to see you back in Star soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“By far the best pizza in Houston”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Whether you're a local or a visitor, Star Pizza is a must visit in Houston. Wide variety and everything from traditionals to new creations. Two story old building with a pub feel to it. They have the closest thing to a Chicago style pizza as an option - it's not Gino's East of Chicago but still delicious. Everything on the menu is great. Great service as well.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hank Z, Owner at Star Pizza 2, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Thanks for stopping by 206Taylor! We're glad you enjoyed the food and the atmosphere! Come back and give us a visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very good pizza!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012 via mobile

The pizza and salads are awesome!! Our family love eating all star pizza!! We all like the old Victorian style house look!!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hank Z, Owner at Star Pizza 2, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Thanks for stopping by Vato! We're glad you enjoy our pizza and salads! Make sure and give us a visit sometime soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Star Pizza 2 also viewed

Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Star Pizza 2? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Star Pizza 2, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.