We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good pizza!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Star Pizza 2

Star Pizza 2
77 Harvard St., Houston, TX 77007
713-869-1241
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #101 of 7,221 Restaurants in Houston
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, Pizza & Pasta, Sandwiches
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Lunch, Delivery
Description: In the summer of 1976, Henry "Hank" Zwirek and his buddy, Ed, both native Chicagoans, grew tired of living in the windy city and relocated to Houston. Hank realized the burgeoning city lacked high quality pizza and delivery service (which was a norm in Chicago). In the summer of 1976, Henry "Hank" Zwirek and his buddy, Ed, both native Chicagoans, grew tired of living in the windy city and relocated to Houston. Hank realized the burgeoning city lacked high quality pizza and delivery service (which was a norm in Chicago). Acting on Hank's instincts, the two purchased a quaint two-story house on Norfolk and in October of 1976, a Star (pizza) was born.Business continued to thrive and Hank was eager to expand. In the summer of 1988 a second Star was born, affectionately named Star 2. The offspring of the original was located at 140 S. Heights Blvd. in the building that's now home to Chatter's.The original Star is still located in the house on Norfolk, and continues to offer the same homely atmosphere as it did in 1976. To this day the Zwirek family owns and operates both locations and thanks their loyal Star Pizzanites for their support throughout the years.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very good pizza!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012 via mobile

The pizza and salads are awesome!! Our family love eating all star pizza!! We all like the old Victorian style house look!!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hank Z, Owner at Star Pizza 2, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Thanks for stopping by Vato! We're glad you enjoy our pizza and salads! Make sure and give us a visit sometime soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

89% Recommend
    64
    34
    7
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Really Great Pizza”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

It's been a while since I've been here for pizza. Wish they were closer because I would always get my pizza here for those lazy movie nights. Great variety and fresh tasting ingredients. I live for pizza, and this place has never disappointed. The wheat crust is so delicious!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hank Z, Owner at Star Pizza 2, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
HoustonTraveler1, thank you for stopping by and for the great review! Please come back and visit us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Houston Pizza”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

Star has great pizza and other pub-style Italian dishes; very good beer selections, including micro-brews; always a winner.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hank Z, Owner at Star Pizza 2, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
Thank you Bill for stopping by and the great review! We're glad you liked the pizza as well as our selection of beers. Don't be a stranger, stop on by!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
2 reviews
“You have not had great pizza unless you've had Star Pizza”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

My sister took me to this pizzeria and promised that i would not regret breaking my diet over this pizza. She was right! This is by far the best pizza I have EVER had, besides my own home made of course!

Great atmosphere, great service, great pizza!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hank Z, Owner at Star Pizza 2, responded to this review, July 29, 2012
Thank you Norma for stopping by and for the great review! And we'd also like to thank your sister for suggesting us to you! We're definitely glad y'all enjoyed your meals!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Woodlands, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012 via mobile

Husband & I decided to try it out after reading reviews. We were not disappointed! Will definitely return even with the hour long drive.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hank Z, Owner at Star Pizza 2, responded to this review, August 4, 2012
Thanks Vandtmann for driving so far to come eat our pizza! We really can't tell you how much we appreciate that. Don't be a stranger, stop on by again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Star Pizza 2 also viewed

Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Star Pizza 2? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Star Pizza 2, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.