We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hand Made” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Star Pizza

Star Pizza
2111 Norfolk St, Houston, TX 77098
713-523-0800
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #81 of 6,949 Restaurants in Houston
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, Sandwiches, Pizza & Pasta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night
Description: Established in 1976 In the summer of 1976, Henry "Hank" Zwirek and his buddy, Ed, both native Chicagoans, grew tired of living in the windy city and relocated to Houston. Hank realized the burgeoning city lacked high quality pizza and delivery service (which was a norm in Chicago). Acting on Hank's instincts, the two purchased a quaint two-story house on Norfolk and in October of 1976, a Star (pizza) was born.Business continued to thrive and Hank was eager to expand. In the summer of 1988 a second Star was born, affectionately named Star 2. The offspring of the original was located at 140 S. Heights Blvd. in the building that's now home to Chatter's.The original Star is still located in the house on Norfolk, and continues to offer the same homely atmosphere as it did in 1976. To this day the Zwirek family owns and operates both locations and thanks their loyal Star Pizzanites for their support throughout the years.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
278 reviews 278 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 99 cities Reviews in 99 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
“Hand Made”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

This is a great place for made when you order pizza. I would like to have gluten free options. The service is good but expect a wait as they really don't make it until you order it. We have not tried anything other than the pizza although they do have other options.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hank Z, Owner at Star Pizza, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Thanks Dr Sped for stopping by!
While it's true we don't have Gluten Free options (we're assuming you're referring to pizza dough), we have experimented with various GF recipes this past year.
Once we have one that's perfect and we put it on the menu, you'll be one of the first to know!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    42
    16
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
San Jose
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great out of town choice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Being in Houston on a business trip, I am trying to hit all the food spots that have been highly recommended. This was one of them and it did not disappoint.

I picked up a small pepperoni and ham New York style pizza to go, and brought it back to the hotel. I really enjoyed this particular pizza. Here are some of its pluses:

1). The traditional sauce they employ is awesome. It's just slightly on the sweet side, but not too overbearing. The sauce is not thick which is perfect for me

2). Plenty of pepperoni, ham, and cheese on my pizza. Two slices from the small pizza (Texas small because this would qualify as Large in California lol) and I was stuffed.

3). The pizza came well together. Sauce and ingredients complimented each other well.

The only thing that kept this pizza from being an absolute 5 bubbles was that the dough was a bit thick and chewy, but that's a personal preference. I prefer my dough to be slightly airy with a tinge of crispiness to it (not quite thin crust). Unfortunately, the crust was a bit heavy and slightly dry for my taste. However, as I said, this is a personal preference AND you may find the crust to your '5 bubble' liking.

Highly recommend this pizza to anyone coming in from out of town.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hank Z, Owner at Star Pizza, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Thanks for stopping by JZguru!
We're always interested to see what non-Houstonians think about our pizza/food.
We're definitely glad you enjoyed the pizza (sauce, portion size, ingredients complementing one another).
Thanks for the recommendation, and if you're ever back in Houston, stop on by!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Best pizza ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

Star Pizza has ruined all other pizza for me. Their deep dish Joe's on whole wheat crust is something I can't even explain. Simply delicious.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hank Z, Manager at Star Pizza, responded to this review, September 22, 2012
Thanks for stopping by DevilDuckDriver! We're sorry (in a way...lol) that you love our Joe's so much that it's ruined all other pizza!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
236 reviews 236 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
“Good Pizza, Poor Service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

I have been to this restaurant a few times, all different times of the day. Poor service every time. Takes about 10 minutes for someone to realize we have been seated before they take our drink order. The pizza is good, but you will be waiting for a long time.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hank Z, Owner at Star Pizza, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Thank you for stopping by Alison. We're glad you enjoyed our food but sorry you experienced bad service the last time you came in.
If you don't mind, could you tell us when your last visit was with us, as well the time, and where you sat. This type of critical information will help us pinpoint the potential problem(s) and hopefully find a solution.
Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston TX
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Favorite pizza!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

When we crave pizza at home we call Star. Yes, the parking is crazy and if you eat in its going to be crowded, but the pizza is great. The favorites at our house are Ben's for the meat lovers and the salsa verde for me! It has all my favorite things, poblano peppers, garlic and feta, and we usually add a Greek salad. Yum!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hank Z, Owner at Star Pizza, responded to this review, September 8, 2012
Thank you for the great review Charlie! We're glad you enjoy our Salsa Verde & Ben's Pizza's as well as our salads! Don't be a stranger, stop on by soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Star Pizza also viewed

 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Star Pizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Star Pizza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.