We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Oysters in the Bay Area!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tommy's Seafood Steakhouse

Tommy's Seafood Steakhouse
2555 Bay Area Blvd, Houston, TX 77058-1521 (Clear Lake)
281-480-2221
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #234 of 6,949 Restaurants in Houston
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Romantic, Doing business
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Clear Lake
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Best Oysters in the Bay Area!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

Tommy's is one of our neighborhood gems that offers a great bar scene, awesome food and tremendous service. My hubby and I always sit at the bar and have made acquaintances with many new people we look forward to hanging with whenever we go there, which is about once a week. The oysters are divine. I am not a lover of cooked oysters but theirs are delicious. Must try the raw oysters Mignonette. Yum. Our fave bartender is Cindy but Brian and the others are great, too! Tommy's is also wonderful for bringing in different "appellations" of oysters from different areas of the Gulf of Mexico. Although we very rarely see him, Tommy is the "sommelier" of oysters and knows his bivalves!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    15
    2
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Tx.
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Excellent Happy Hour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

Recently visited this restaurant for the Oyster special during Happy Hour. The oyster's were fresh and excellent in taste. We also tried the Calamari which was among the best we have
ever had any where, the Mussels left a little to be desired, definitely over cooked but eatable.
Fried green tomatoes definitely had Italian flavor with heavy Marinara sauce and too much
overcooked batter.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
“Stellar!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

Before my trip to Houston I googled places for a nice dinner, this exceeded ALL expectations. The service was outstanding and the food was some of the best I have ever had. Everything was served quickly and was in and out for a 3 course meal in under an hour. I would drive to Houston just to eat here!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Yummy. Excellent, fresh, yummy seafood. Good environment excellent service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

Went for a late lunch. Wonderful place. Husband had oysters that were fresh. I had tuna salad. All so good.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Top Contributor
179 reviews 179 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Solid seafood and steak place near NASA”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

Tommy's suffers from the sameness that plagues all restaurants in this area, which is to say you start from the position of being in an office building or strip mall, not terribly distinctive or stylish. But once you get out of the parking lot and into the restaurant, it is a reasonably hip (for Clear Lake) restaurant with an almost-kind-of-happening bar scene, and they DO sling a cold and generous martini. The seafood is what you'd expect, with lots of local gulf oysters and shrimp and such, accented with a few nice flown items like Ahi tuna. The Lobster Bisque on special the evening I visited was a bit thick and heavy and seemed like it probably was a previously frozen food service product, but the giant gulf shrimp were fresh, nicely seasoned, breaded and fried, and the tarter and cocktail sauces were just right. Seared ahi salads looked very nice. And, three of us ate very well, enjoyed a nice glass of wine with our meal and split a dessert, and still managed to get out for about $50 per person. So, overall quite acceptable and, if in the area on business, would go again.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tommy's Seafood Steakhouse also viewed

 

Been to Tommy's Seafood Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tommy's Seafood Steakhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.