We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Huge Beers” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bubba's Bayou City Grill

Bubba's Bayou City Grill
2800 N Terminal Rd, Houston, TX 77032
(281) 230-3100
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,506 of 6,953 Restaurants in Houston
Cuisines: Seafood, Barbecue
Restaurant details
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Huge Beers”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

Stopped in while waiting for the next flight looking for something light to eat. I ordered the gumbo and my wife had the Brisket sliders with sweet potato fires. The gumbo was good but not special. The brisket sliders were OK but hardly any meat, for $7.95 they were grossly overpriced.

The value here is the beer, not much in the way of choices but the beers are huge, we split.

Not the best or worst airport food but it will do in a pinch.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    11
    7
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Trinidad
Top Contributor
355 reviews 355 reviews
170 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
282 helpful votes 282 helpful votes
“Great place to relax between flights. Sports on TV, huge beer mugs...a man's haven!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

We stopped here for drinks and coffee while awaiting our connecting flight to Denver.
We didn't bother to request a table - we just sat at the bar.

Bubba's had a nice lively environment with lots of big screen tv's showing sports of every type!
This place had super extra large beers! Largest mugs we've ever seen!
I left my husband in here while I browsed the shops and bookstore and he was perfectly content!
Counter service was fast and refills came with just a nod of the head.
We'll happily stop in here again next time we're passing through IAH-George Bush Int'l airport.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manassas, Virginia, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Diamond in the Ruff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

Long Story Short.

I didn't enjoy Houston too much. So when I came to the place I had low expectations.

My, My, their Gumbo was Delicious and the rib eye to die for.

All around a good Experience.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langhorne, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
445 reviews 445 reviews
315 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 128 cities Reviews in 128 cities
169 helpful votes 169 helpful votes
“Great service for breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

I had a 5:20 AM flight from Phila to Houston that arrived at 8:00 AM. I needed a quick breakfast.
I was seated promptly and met by a very nice waiter. I explained my situation and my order was placed and my food was out in a flash. The food, eggs, bacon, toast, was good. He was also prompt with my bill. This was my kind of breakfast to kick off my busy week.
I have been to Bubba's for dinner a few years ago. The gumbo is great and the Shiner Bock is cold.
Bubba's is a great choice in this food court area.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugar Land, Texas
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“An efficient machine to separate travellers from money”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

Gumbo was quite good, but service was slow. Drinks here are a scam. There was no beer listed on the menu but I ordered a Shiner Bock. Asking the price of a beer seemed unnecessary, so I didn't ask. When the bill came, it was over $10 - more than double the price of a 6-pack. This is gouging even by airport standards.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bubba's Bayou City Grill also viewed

Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Bubba's Bayou City Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bubba's Bayou City Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.