We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fair Value for a fair price.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Piquet

Cafe Piquet
5757 Bissonnet, Houston, TX 77401
(713) 664-1031
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #190 of 6,949 Restaurants in Houston
Price range: $1 - $20
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Fair Value for a fair price.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

I enjoy going to Cafe Piquet when I'm in the Bellaire area. It is a cozy little family restaurant serving Cuban cuisine. The fried plantain appetizer is a good start to the meal. The Sangria is not bad but i switched to wine to go with the meal. I had the Carnival Cubano as the main course. It was tasty but was all beef with a rice and beens, no veggies. While not gourmet, the falvor was pretty good and the portions were large.

The service was friendly but as reported in another review, the staff seemed to disappear at times during dinner. A little more attention to the customer would be appreciated.

Overall, I think the restaurant is a good value for the money and would recommend it to any of my friends in the area.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    12
    5
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Warm Friendly Atmosphere”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

This restaurant is as cute as can be and was very busy on the night I visited. The waiter was pleasant and friendly but seemed to have a problem with disapearing throughout the meal which would leave us with empty drink glasses and some unnecessary delays. Overall, the staff are friendly and courteous...but you need come check on the patrons and refill tea glasses! One of the dishes ordered was Pernil (shredded pork). It was dry. I ordered garlic shrimp which had no real flavor. This was diappointing but the appetizers and the Flan were out of sight.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellaire, Texas
Top Contributor
290 reviews 290 reviews
152 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 118 cities Reviews in 118 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
“a favorite”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

My wife and I eat here occasionally and we enjoy it. The food and service are always good and the atmosphere is pleasant. The prices are very reasonable and we always end up taking home "doggie bags" since the portions are large.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, USA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great deal!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

I have no complaints! The service was good, the sangria was right, and the food was tasty & reasonably priced! I will definitely coming back!

I love plantains so this place was good for me from the start!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellaire, Texas
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2012

Have passed by this pretty little restaurant for years and finally tried it. The hot bread and butter were a nice warm up for the nice surprises to follow. My Ropa Viego was very tasty, and my husband really enjoyed the Shrimp Creole. My son ate his steak (child's plate) so quickly, I never saw it. The only negative was my daughter's pork dish was very dry. We'll definitely go back.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Piquet also viewed

Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Cafe Piquet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Piquet, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.