We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always great food!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cracker Barrel

Cracker Barrel
18151 Katy Fwy, Houston, TX 77094-1208
281-492-1585
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,023 of 7,273 Restaurants in Houston
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American, Californian
Restaurant details
Oklahoma City
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Always great food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Clean, fast service. The food was hot and great. Staff was friendly and very attentive. They didn't serve you...then leave you high and dry. Our server came to the table several times for refills and to check on us.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    16
    5
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
174 reviews 174 reviews
150 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Gotta Have Country Cookin”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013 via mobile

I always have a delightful "comfort food" experience at CB no matter what location accross the USA. I am guilty of having to peruse through all the knick knacks in the gift shop, my favorite are the wax-liquid candies. Brings back childhood memories.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great place for breakfast!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Cracker Barrel has the BEST pancakes and delicious coffee. My husband and I love to stop for breakfast - especially when traveling. They have great biscuits (the cornbread is just ok) and the lunch and dinner menu has traditional southern/country food. We love the old country store decor and ambiance. One of the best parts about this place is the ability to browse and shop while you're waiting for your table. The store sells all kinds of unique things that you usually don't see anywhere else.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
156 helpful votes 156 helpful votes
“Cracker Barrel @ 1-45 / Airtex: PASS”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Entrees were one vegatable plate (mashed potatoes, green beans, macaroni & cheese, and fried okra) and house salad, and one swiss steak plate with mashed potatoes and macaroni and cheese, 2 teas for $24.19. Food was average, service was terrible; almost comically terrible. Had to ask for the complimentary bread, repeatedly ask for refills, no pre-bussing. We laughed to see her come to two empty tea glasses and ask us if we need anything. This was after we realized she didn't do refills, for us or the tables around us. It was also our opinion that the food would be better presented on a larger plate (see pics). There is really no sense in overflowing a plate. Kinda suprised they didn't put my salad in the center of my vegetable plate. Just average on all levels.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Waste of time.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

We waited 7 minutes and no one approached the table to even take a drink order. They staff didn't even seen to care when we walked out. They were not busy. There was staff everywhere. Just be advised when you go.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cracker Barrel also viewed

Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Cracker Barrel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cracker Barrel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.