We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fresh food, quality prep, large servings, pricey but worth it.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cleburne Cafeteria

Cleburne Cafeteria
3606 Bissonnet St, Houston, TX 77005-2120 (Greenway/ Upper Kirby)
713-667-2386
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #138 of 7,288 Restaurants in Houston
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American, Californian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Neighborhood: Greenway/ Upper Kirby
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
202 reviews 202 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 145 cities Reviews in 145 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
“Fresh food, quality prep, large servings, pricey but worth it.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

They get veggies fresh from farmer's market, have their own butcher, make their own sauces and dressings. Breads and desserts baked fresh, Many choices every day with daily specials you can check on at their website. I almost always get the Lemon-pepper Cod and their Squash Casserole. Many salads, many entrees, many breads and many pies, cakes & other desserts to choose from. Servings are generous, and you can take home what you don't finish. They only take cash payment, and they get really busy around lunchtime. People come from all over Houston to get an excellent meal here. We drive about 10 miles in city traffic to go there, and it is the only cafeteria that comes close to having such high standards that we know of in town.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    22
    8
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
1 review
“The food is good, the services is not!!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

I thought maybe it was just a bad day, but on several occasions, I attempted to place a carry out order and while waiting in line, the counter is filled with staff assisting and preparing carry out orders, but as soon as I approached the counter, the entire crew flees....so I stand there (along) waitin and waitin and finally a girl with street clothes on asked was I being helped (found out she was in training and did not know how to count American currency).....she kept trying to get someone's attention to assist w/my carry out order and they just rush by her like they are so busy. When she finally motion for a waitress, the waitress took one glance at me and attempted to walk away....I am a very attractive, professional African-American female.....I have seen this behavior in Houston before, where you are literally ignored by Mexican workers as if your dollars don't count. But because of that along, I will not be going back to Celburnes and then I was charged for each individual container for my carry out order and Hispanic co-worker was not and when I questioned them, the clerk lied to my face!

  • Visited February 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porter, Texas
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“One of the best cafeterias in Texas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

This is without a doubt one of the best cafeterias in Texas. We have never had a bad lunch here.

All their food is obviously made from scratch and is served generously. My wife’s slice of roast beef today was (seriously) an inch thick and most excellent. My turkey and dressing today was piled high and equally outstanding. Their breads and pastries today were as good as you will ever find in any high-end bakery.

Their wait staff is wonderful: nice young ladies with push carts ensuring your glass of iced tea is never empty and ready to offer butter or steak sauce or Styrofoam boxes or anything else you might need.

The customers dining here are an interesting mix of Houstonians: some wearing three-piece suits, others wearing shorts and flip flops, and all happily mingling together as equals with the common goal of enjoying lunch at this multi-generation family-operated cafeteria jewel.

The only negative points I have: the cafeteria is closed on Saturdays and the prices are a little bit high. But otherwise, I would like to have another lunch soon at Cleburne Cafeteria.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Unique neighborhood spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012 via mobile

Portions are huge but for some reason the serve on plates too small for the food. Be prepared for the geriatruc people that make up most of the customers. And I have never seen so many obese folks in one place. It's very popular and always crowded. Fantastic desserts. Family run for many years. No credit cards accepted. And it's expensive.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanside, California
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Quality food and ingredients, but it ain't cheap”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

Always have to have my Cleburne Cafeteria fix when I come back home from So Cal..and the quality never varies. In the restaurant world of Sysco commissary-prepared foods, it is nice to know that some places still care about the right seasonings and flavors. The desserts are incredible, both in taste and size, the vegetables and salads actually are fresh, and the entrees are great. Had fried shrimp last time and it was better than any in recent memory. If you like old-school quality and tradition, you cannot go wrong here. The mother and the son (owners) are ever vigilant on site to be sure everything is running smoothly, too. No credit cards, so bring lots of cash if you are hungry.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cleburne Cafeteria also viewed

Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Cleburne Cafeteria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cleburne Cafeteria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.