We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location and atmosphere” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Lomonte's Italian Restaurant

Lomonte's Italian Restaurant
14510 Grisby, Houston, TX 77079
(281) 496-0030
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Lomonte's Italian Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #735 of 7,278 Restaurants in Houston
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Stafford
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Nice location and atmosphere”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

This is a charming restaurant and our server was very sweet as well as efficient. I have heard about this restaurant for years and was excitedt to try it. The food was ok. The dishes are pretty outdated and a bit sloppy.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    11
    4
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Very good Italian in W. Houston”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Italian is one of my favorite types of food not simple Italian like pizza or lasagna per se but more involved dishes and i really like the food at Lomonte's it is amoung the better Italian places to eat just don't order the Grappa from the bar unless you want to pay up for a good but small drink. That said I have had many fine meals at Lomonte's it is St Louis style Italian. The Chicken Florentine is probably my favorite but I like many items on the menu here.

One of the real treats of eating there is without a doubt on of the best house salads of any restaurant in town which includes Hearts of Palm in there house salad which I would be hard pressed to name another Houston restaurant that does this. If I had any criticism of Lomonte's it is there very limited desert menu that includes only a couple choices neither of which is as spectacular as the rest of the food they offer.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“my grandma would approve”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

i grew up eating my grandmothers homemade italian food and this was as close to my grandmothers cooking as i can remember. the canneloni was outstanding. I wish I had ordered the dinner portion. The sauce was so incredible i tried to mop up all of it. My grandmother would definitely have approved. their famous salad was fresh and flavorful and even the iced tea was good. Second time I have eaten there and will find my way back again soon. service was sharp and attentive. decor was pleasant. not many tables and small bu tnot cramped. location is not easy to find. its on some side street with a few other restaurants tucked in a residential area near a frontage road.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas, USA
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellent Italian Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

We had a nice dinner at Lamonte's Italian Restaurant at the suggestion of my father-in-law who has been there several times. The restaurant has nice ambiance inside and has nice outside areas when the weather is nice. Try the toasted ravioli as an appetizer. The wine list has some great selections at reasonable prices. Many of the pasta dishes are reasonably priced below twenty dollars. The specialty dishes are mostly in the twenty dollar ranges. 4 of us had dinner and we were all pleased with our meals. The waiter, Mike, from Torino, Italy was awesome. He did a great job. We will be back on our next visit to Houston.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
louisiana
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Disappointed!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

First I'll say the service, atmosphere and restaurant appeal were right on with a nice Italian restaurant. I ordered the "special" of the day, beef medalions with a reduction sauce, angel hair pasta and grilled shrimp for $35.00 I was expecting an awesome meal. The beef was not tasty at all and a bit tough. It was clearly not quality beef as expected. The reduction sauce tasted worse than if it had come out of a bottle and kind of sweet. The shrimp and pasta were fine, but I was looking forward to the beef medalions as I've had them at my favorite restaurants but was greatly disappointed by this.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lomonte's Italian Restaurant also viewed

Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Lomonte's Italian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lomonte's Italian Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.