We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a 5 star but the food is good and the price is right.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mambo Seafood

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Mambo Seafood
6697 Hillcroft St, Houston, TX 77081-4801
713-541-3666
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2,923 of 7,278 Restaurants in Houston
Cuisines: Seafood
Restaurant details
Houston, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Not a 5 star but the food is good and the price is right.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

I've visited Mambo's on 4 occasions with my wife. Most of the customers are usually of Mexican American decent. Today we were the only Caucasian customers that I could see and the place was full. So it is a very popular spot for Mexican Americans since the food is more Mexican style seafood. There's always a lively atmosphere and the service has been excellent. Dress is casual. Their seafood style rice is delicious. It has shrimp added and is a treat. The fish plate with shrimp is my favorite even though it's one of the least priced items on the menu. You get 3 pieces of fish (Cod I believe) and 6 small fried shrimp with rice and a roll. Not bad. Only iced tea and coffee refills are free. Refills on beverages (Coke etc) are not free. I've found this to be the only restaurant I've visited which does not have free refills on those type drinks. Mambo's is nothing classy but it is clean and we're always treated well by the employees. You can compare Mambo's to Willies in Houston if you've ever been there.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    2
    3
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Little Elm, Texas, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Cheap seafood, cold beers!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Mambo is about having a nice dose of seafood and a cold "Michelada". Calamari is super fresh, thay feature Gator Gar, delicious!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeLand, Florida
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Good Food and Lots of It - Place is not fancy and not real Clean”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

The food was great but the place is messy and the service is not too good either! There was a piece of chewed gum stuck to the top of the roll of paper towels on our table - the seats had salad dressing splattered on them and the hot sauce bottle had drippins all over it...we were hungry and tired so we still ate here and the food wasvery good and there was lots of it! Clean up the place and it would be great!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
corpus christi,texas
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great seafood, great value!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

This restaurant was recommended by a co-worker who is a Houston native. The food was excellent, and reasonably priced. Wait staff was very polite, but very slow. Could have been because we went on a Saturday night, and the restaurant was very busy. The supposedly "world famous" Mambo rice was nothing more than Chinese-food style shrimp fried rice. It was good, but I was not expecting this at a Mexican style seafood restaurant.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocala, FL
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good Oysters, bad everything else.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

I ventured to Mambo's because I was told by a local that this place had fresh seafood and an all around good place to eat. I went on a Friday night with my family. The menu was very hard to understand. There were many options of seafood, but most of them were all fried. The side dishes were either fried or we could not figure out what they were. Our waitress was not helpfull at all. We ordered the calamari appetizer, which we never received. I ordered a combination platter, which consisted of fried fish, shrimp, stuffed crab, and spanish rice. The shrimp and fish were soaked in oil. I tried it, but it was not good and I could not eat it. My husband ordered the raw oysters, and they were delicious and big. We were never asked if we wanted something else to replace the meal that we tried to send back. I will never return to this establishment and do not recomment it.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mambo Seafood also viewed

Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Mambo Seafood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mambo Seafood, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.