We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bunch of flavor packed with great value!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Viet Restaurant

Le Viet Restaurant
11328 Westheimer Rd, Houston, TX 77077-6838
281-293-8883
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2,673 of 7,487 Restaurants in Houston
Cuisines: Asian, Vietnamese, Pacific Rim
Restaurant details
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Bunch of flavor packed with great value!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

This restaurant is one of those places which gives you a feel of a family run restaurant. Warm and authentic the food served here is exhaustive in variety but slow in service so I suggest a take out is a better option.

I loved the food........packed with lots of flavor, good quantities and a meal for 2 under $25 is certainly a catch. Their fried fish in chilli sauce, fried dim sums and other entrees are worth it.

I'd certainly recommend this for the food if not the ambiance.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    9
    2
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Houston
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Try the ice creams”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Food is pretty good, I enjoy the pho and some of the salads. Ice creams are outstanding, they are made of fresh food and serve in the fruit shell itself, pineapple and coconut are lovely !!!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TX
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Good food with reasonable prices.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We at Le Viet Restaurant as a family and enjoyed the dinner. The service was good and the quality of the food was good. The portion sizes were typical of other vietnamese restaurants so you would not go home hungry. I enjoyed the pho and didn't find it too salty as it can be at many places. The only area I felt was lacking was a kids menu. I'm not saying a corn dog and pizza menu but to have the normal dishes served in a smaller portion for a lower price. We inquired and they said that we had to order from the menu for adults. We had to throw half of it away. My child really enjoyed it but I felt it was wasteful.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
167 helpful votes 167 helpful votes
“Some very good dishes; worth a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

While this isn't fine dining, there are some very good dishes on the menu. I had the Muc Xao Xa Ot - also known as "BURNING HOT SQUID" and it was just delicious. The squid was tender, the sauce hot but not inedible. Sure, there are some non-Vietnamese dishes, but just order carefully and you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Vietnamese food - I don't think so”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

This restaurant was recommended by French friends of us. We were expecting authentic Vietnamese food, but we were in for a unsavoury surprise. The food served was more Chinese than Vietnamese - we lived in Asia for many years, so not easily fooled. But what made it worse is that none of the dishes were tasty and all were greasy - with the exception of the Wonton soup. I have developed a craving for spicy food, so my main course was a spicy dish: what a disappointment, what happened to the red peppers! I don't like being negative and are looking for something positive to report, but unfortunately.... NOT recommended.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Viet Restaurant also viewed

Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Le Viet Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Viet Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.