We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best family run Japanese Restaurant in Houston” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Teppay Japanese Restaurant

Teppay Japanese Restaurant
6516 Westheimer Rd, Ste A2, Houston, TX 77057-5139
713-789-4506
Improve this listing
Ranked #545 of 7,288 Restaurants in Houston
Price range: $0 - $80
Cuisines: Sushi, Asian, Japanese
Good for: Doing business
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“The best family run Japanese Restaurant in Houston”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Mamsan greets you at the door, Papsan works behind the sushi counter with his daughter. I've been coming here for over 15 years. The fish is unquestionably fresh, try the fresh mackerel it's out of this world.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    5
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Real Japanese, not trendy, not "fusion" but downtown Ginza Sushi!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

OK, we have been to the so-called #1 top 'fusion' in-spots... they are fun, but they are not authentic. We travel to the Pac Rim lots, so I know sushi... Teppay is just like walking into a little spot in GInza... or near the Toyko fishmarket... wonderful and real! We have enjoyed their food for more than 20 years, and we have never, ever had the chef or his wife pull any billing stunts on us, not ever. The tab is always proper and correct, not cheap, but not in error. Their 'sissy-sushi' is great too, grilled eel, cooked shrimp, hand-rolls and such... perfect for those non-raw folks... also the Tempura is great. This is a very typical small Japanese sushi restaurant, about 15 at the sushi-bar and around 10 tables... we love the two private rooms, great for a quiet evening. We try the new ones, the very expensive ones, and we always come back to Teppay!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“The real deal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

A great find. Maybe the best sushi I have had. Trust the chef. Make sure you try the ramen soup after.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Very authentic!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

If you want great traditional sushi and japanese food. This is the place for you. The family that runs has a very consistent business. The restaurant is in a bad shopping center and a little out dated but the food is well worth it. Fabulous udon and they always have uni.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Check your bill and know your fish”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012 via mobile

The Shusi chef would serve a cheaper fish if what you ordered is out of stock, and the wife would add a few dollars here and here on your bill if you don't read japanese.

Good food, your have to be careful or they will rip you off.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Teppay Japanese Restaurant also viewed

Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Teppay Japanese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Teppay Japanese Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.