We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a Good Feed!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shade

Shade
250 W 19th St, Houston, TX 77008-4010 (Greater Heights)
713-863-7500
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #332 of 7,487 Restaurants in Houston
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $21 - $40
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Neighborhood: Greater Heights
Houston, Texas, USA
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Always a Good Feed!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

This neighborhood gem always provides a fine meal. Pick anything on the menu for a very tasty meal. Their infused teas are excellent as well.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    26
    6
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Louisiana
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Great marriage of flavors without being fusy or too commercial”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

I have eaten here many times and it keeps getting better. Greg, the chef combines flavors in a very current way without making it too extravagant. He is not trying to say look what I did but doesn't this taste good! He and his wife are very personable as are the staff which were extremely attentive. Not stuffy but more like his food, an old friend, comforting but not boring. The roasted fig salad was great.My wife had a bite of mine and and then ordered one for herself. Eggpalnt involtini was very nice as well. We only had appetizers as we had a long drive and did not want to fall asleep. It is in the Hieights 15 minutes form Westheimer Blvd. which makes it this area's premiere eatery and it clearly is as good if not better than most places inside the loop.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A Neighborhood Highlight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

Very accommodating for a lunch group of 12, printed a personalized menu at no extra charge, table was ready when we arrived. Food was excellent We ordered appetizers ((bacon, Mac and cheese, pita chips), shrimp entree was excellent, shade salad was loved by everyone who ordered it, The only drawback was a shortage of wait staff. Our waiter did a very good job considering the short staff situation. Have been there before and the food is insistently very good to excellent.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Eats in the Heights”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Heights residents enjoy excellent (no.. one of the best) fish restaurants around Houston. The menu is simple but I've had probably 80% of the food items and always impressed. The wine menu features Renteria Pinot Noir, which is one of my personal California faves (unfortunately, no Texas wines - why?). The bar is really a great place to meet for drinks and although this isn't a big place anyway, it's genuinely warm and friendly.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brenham, Texas
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Consistently Delightful Menu”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Some restaurants in Houston are not consistent. Shades food is always great, wine list awesome and if you like eating in a NY style restaurant - table on top of table, you will be in Heaven. Eaten there many times but not great when I took my mom as she enjoyed the food but had a hard time hearing me over the dining room noise.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shade also viewed

Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Shade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shade, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.