We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor for the price” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Olivette - At The Houstonian

Olivette - At The Houstonian
111 N Post Oak Ln, Houston, TX 77024-7703
(713) 685-6713
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Olivette - At The Houstonian is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #26 of 6,949 Restaurants in Houston
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $16 - $50
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Scenic view
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Top Contributor
177 reviews 177 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Poor for the price”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

Fantastic hotel and Olivette has a nice feel and an attractive menu. However the food just has two many niggly problems. This visit I ate once but my colleagues had eaten there the night before too. All our meals had something not right and one each night had to go back (and for Houston steaks should be right not over or under cooked).

My advice if you stay at the Houstonian get a taxi to a restaurant - there are Lots of good ones!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    21
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Houston
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Christmas Day Lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

An excellent Brunch..!!!! The decor is very cheerful, staff is very professional, selection of food, OH MY.....you can't finish....made to order omlets and then some, prime rib, seafoods, salads, many~many pastries. I didn't know where to start, all so tempting that i tried most of'em, so full afterwards. Food is very delicious, something for everyone, and you are never at pressure to finish up and leave as other restaurants present you your bill before dessert has been served.
Not cheap, after all, it's Christmas Day Brunch...however, worth every penny.

You will not be leaving the Houstonian Hungry..!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Annivarsary dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

was a lovely dinner, the service was excelent but the food was average not as i expected , the risoto was very good ... they surprised us with free coffee and a piece of cake...

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Galleria Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Went for at lunch with no reservations, and was accommodated with no hesitation. Lobby of hotel was decorated tastefully and lushly for the holidays which added to the ambiance. Lunch menu ranged from soups, salads, and sandwiches to entrees and all overseen by their own chef. There were non-stop drink refills and our server was extremely attentive. Wonderful experience and will definitely will be back.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redondo Beach
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Thanksgiving Brunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

One of the best brunches, I have experienced. All of the standard breakfast items, with made to order omlets, waffles, etc., squab, turkey, prime ribe ham, lobster risoto (with plenty of extra lobster), fruit, salads and anything you may want. Mimosas and wines, tea, coffee, milk or whatever and to cap it off the best bananas foster I have ever had, along with so many pastrys I can't begin to enumerate. All served in beautiful surroundings by a very efficient staff.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Olivette - At The Houstonian also viewed

Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Olivette - At The Houstonian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Olivette - At The Houstonian, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.