We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish they were here!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hugo's

Hugo's
1602 Westheimer Rd, Houston, TX 77006 (Neartown/ Montrose)
713-524-7744
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 7,200 restaurants in Houston
Price range: $20 - $35
Cuisines: Mexican, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Bar scene, Doing business, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Neartown/ Montrose
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Wish they were here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Totally agree with all others who said that food deserve 5 stars, everything, everything were just awesome, if you want to taste real Mexican food this is the right place,pity we had our dinner there only once, because I couldn't decide what to have, everything sounded so interesting
And the best cocktail I've ever had was there, their raspberry Mojito is so so so good!
If you are in Houston you just must go there, and you won't be dissapointed

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

87% Recommend
    176
    89
    25
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Exceptional and artful Mexican cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Everything was fresh, delicious, and well-made. Excellent wine list. In Chicago, we'd have paid about three times as much for this quality of fine Mexican!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Mexican fine dining at its best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We popped in for what we thought would be a quick lunch. One look at the menu, and we settled in for the long haul. Gorgeous food, delicious cocktails, wonderful service. Highly recommended.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Best Restaurant in Houston”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I must admit, I have not been to every restaurant in Houston but I have been to many and this is the best.
Upscale authentic Mexican food, absolutely delicious and very different from some of the more upscale restaurants in the city. Highly recommended.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“A perfect meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

You will love the margaritas. And you'd be foolish not to try the mole. Had a fabulous butter lettuce salad with a cilantro dressing. I never order salad at a "Mexican" restaurant. I'm glad I did. And the dessert!!! We had them do a tray of ice cream, cake and chalupas. Amazing. Sweet and fresh.

So glad we ventured away from the convention center at the advice of a local. And while getting a cab back to the hotel was an ordeal, I would definitely return. I found the food delightful. The drinks solid and the price respectable.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hugo's also viewed

Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Hugo's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hugo's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.