We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Favorite eats in Houston” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Irma's Restaurant

Irma's Restaurant
22 N Chenevert St, Houston, TX 77002-1302 (Downtown)
713-222-0767
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #346 of 7,278 Restaurants in Houston
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Mexican, Vegetarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations
Neighborhood: Downtown
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Favorite eats in Houston”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013 via mobile

Always have to lunch at Irma's when in Houston. Chili rellenos are the best and the lemonade is our favorite - fruity and sweet. Irma's comes out to greet us every time we eat there! Love it......

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    15
    7
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Best chiles rellenos ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

I grew up in South Texas, and TexMex food is pretty much everywhere. Even at home where my mom and aunts made excellent Mexican food, I could just never take a liking to chiles rellenos - they always seemed to have too much batter or too much salt or something. However, I'd heard the chiles rellenos at Irma's were incredible so I thought I'd give them a try. Well, it was one of those OMG moments as these chiles rellenos were outstanding! It's hard for me to order anything else now because they are that good. In addition, Irma Galvan, the owner, is always there visiting the patrons to make sure your food is good and hot. She is so involved in making sure your dining experience is wonderful that she seems to recognize everyone by name. Irma's is a must visit in Houston for authentic and delicious Mexican food.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“best mexican food in Houston”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We love this restaurant for its spinach enchiladas, its cheese enchiladas, its chile rellenos and its tea and lemonade....all so delicious and fresh.
Service is friendly, one is treated like family. You are likely to meet Irma and her kids when you visit. The decor is eccentric and very personal - old dolls, mardi gras beads, photos, business cards, outsider art.
The prices are a little high, but the experience is many steps above the usual in Houston, Texas.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Dined here for the first time prior to attending a concert at Toyota Center, very convienent. Although we were first time diners by the time we left you would have thought we had been going for years considering the friendliness and awesome service. Yes menu is limited but everything we ordered was prepared fresh and tasted great. Margaritas were so much better than most you get at the chain TexMex places. Fish tacos for the best. Our server also brought us a couple of off menu items to try out, they were too delicious and appreciated. Irma visited our table and after dinner showed us around her restaurant. We can't wait to go back when basesball season starts.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Why do people get so excited about this place?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Several people told me that I "had to try" Irma's when in Houston. So, I was in Houston for a business meeting and I asked a couple of the locals to take me. Their response was sort of "why?" but they indulged me. Turned out they were right. It was expensive, the food was not great, and the person who took care of us (who I think was the bartender) was pretty overbearing about pushing more food and so forth on us. Really, the place is nothing special. I've paid less for better Mexican in Texas and, frankly, have paid less for better Mexican in several other cities across the US as well.

On the plus side, the margarita that I had was pretty good. Not overbearingly sweet like many that you get at various places.

My opinion... skip Irma's

  • Visited February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Irma's Restaurant also viewed

Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Irma's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Irma's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.