We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best soup ever!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Katz's Deli and Bar

Katz's Deli and Bar
616 Westheimer Rd, Houston, TX 77006-3916
713-521-3838
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #663 of 7,278 Restaurants in Houston
Cuisines: American, Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best soup ever!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

I love the environment of this place. They are fast and effective. They have a large menu. You should try the Chicken in a pot. It's to die for. Matzah balls, chicken, vegetables and a tasteful broth. Prices are super reasonable.
My only complaint is the parking. Usually I park across the street and there's no traffic lights to cross to the restaurant. The curve is dangerous. The city of Houston should do something about this.
Deli is 5 stars, though. Love it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    42
    31
    13
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“It's not NYC, but it'll do”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

The experience at this place is nothing like the famous Katz's in NYC where you get the real deli experience. This is more of a sit down restaurant with a bar and a couple of tvs showing the game.

The menu is extensive (not as bad as Cheesecake Factory) but for place that tries to be a deli, it's got more restaurant type plates.

The only disappointment was my order of onion rings. Compared to my pastrami sandwich, the onion rings were a much smaller portion, about the size of a small order of fries at McDonald's -- a little disappointing given the price.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Not a true Deli”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Katz is not a true Deli. I ordered a corn beef on pumpernickel and was told we don't have pumpernickel??? What .... aren't you a Deli? So I ordered a Reuben and the waiter asked what kind of bread. I was SHOCKED! A Reuben always come on marbled Rye bread! And like before no marbled rye bread!! So I settled for plain rye bread. When I got my sandwich I was SO DISSAPOINTED!!! The little piece of rye bread was not even half the size it should be so that I could pick up the sliced piece. The cheese wasn't even melted!!! I asked for the manager and he apologized and didn't charge me for the sandwich. I won't be back! This restraint is not the place to go for a true deli experience (try Nelsons Deli on Richmond) and Katz is WAY OVERPRICED!!!!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Great hearty food, reasonable prices and good service. Perfect place to grab a quick bite in Montrose

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Katz's Never Closes - But this will get them closed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I have been to Katz's many times. They are always busy. The food is okay. The fried beef bacon is perfect at 2:00 am after clubbing and they are near many clubs in the Montrose area. However, they are woefully understaffed, especially at the bar. The lady at the bar, and her helper, who both shall remain nameless (though I remember their names) seem to be both overworked, not well trained and lacking common sense. When the wrong meal came, I could not get the woman's attention so I started eating. When the right meal came, the man asked me if I could switch out the toast for the muffins. I said no, and started to explain to him the eggs were also wrong, there were no condiments on my correct one he brought out, etc., but didn't tell him that switching food, with his hands, no gloves, on the counter, from the plate of a patron is a clear violation of health code laws. So, my suggestion is, IF you are going to go, go when it is not busy. They still need better training.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Katz's Deli and Bar also viewed

Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Katz's Deli and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Katz's Deli and Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.