We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunday Brunch with Friends” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Katz's Deli and Bar

Katz's Deli and Bar
616 Westheimer Rd, Houston, TX 77006-3916
713-521-3838
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #663 of 7,278 Restaurants in Houston
Cuisines: American, Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Sunday Brunch with Friends”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Great atmosphere to share a brunch with friends! My friends and I were seated upstairs which was nice and quiet, but still buzzed with chatter. I ordered the Eggs Linda because as soon as I saw it had a horseradish sauce, I had to try it. Unfortunately, I would've preferred that my horseradish sauce had that horseradish kick instead of all than all the sweetness, but oh well, it was still yummy. For my group, the Mimosas definitely needed to be stronger. Our waiter was great and we weren't rushed to leave and we appreciated that! I do wish it wasn't as pricey.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    42
    31
    13
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
184 reviews 184 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“As Close To NY As Youll Find”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Enormous sandwiches,great pickles and soups and a NY state of mind atmosphere. I am a former New Yorker and this is my go to place in Houston or the Woodlands.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Eh”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

It's a deli. What exactly do you expect. Oh, and it's an expensive deli. I guess the Katz's name means "pay more". Had better sandwiches and lower prices elsewhere.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“East Westheimer area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

The lower Westheimer area has many restaurants and is located past the outskirts of downtown. That said, Katz is worth it for the food. It is not far from the Museum district and the Rothko- St thomas areas. If you are around this, don't miss it for great deli sandwiches.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
509 reviews 509 reviews
218 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 99 cities Reviews in 99 cities
360 helpful votes 360 helpful votes
“Clam Chowder”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Quick airport bound lunch at this classical place. Neighbourhood is somewhat artistic / seedy as is well known for the Westheimer/Montrose area but Katzes is immaculate and indeed as remarked by others takes you back to the America of the fifties. Ample parking opposite Westheimer street, which here near downtown is nothing like the 6 lane commercial mainstreet it becomes at the westside. Katzes looks a lot like the NYC original as well. Open 24x7, which is nice for the late night party crowd. Classical American pub grub. The Clam Chowder was fantastic, the regular black coffee very good. Service was not very fast but acceptable, still got it all over and done with in 45 minutes or so.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Katz's Deli and Bar also viewed

Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Katz's Deli and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Katz's Deli and Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.