We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Houstons to Hillstone” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Houston's

Houston's
4848 Kirby Dr, Houston, TX 77098
713-529-2385
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #116 of 7,221 Restaurants in Houston
Price range: $41 - $80
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Pearland, Texas
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Houstons to Hillstone”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012 via mobile

Not sure why they changed the name from Houston's to Hillstone...but it is essentially the same exact restaurant - nothing different.

The place has great service and remains a classic.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

79% Recommend
    71
    46
    19
    10
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Midland, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Business Lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Great food and great service. Try to eat here any time I am in Houston. Had the Crab Cakes on the lunch special. Wonderful

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Items not on Menu”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

I know it sounds crazy, but order the chicken tenders! They are not on the menu but Oh are they delicious... Maybe go for that for an appetizer than graduate to their more refined foods. The grilled artichoke is also a great option for an appetizer.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Going down hill fast”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

Great bloody Mary, but steaks are never done to order, service is slow, and I'm tired of eating in the dark.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Top Contributor
188 reviews 188 reviews
151 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Houston's in Houston”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

My first visit to Houston and of course I had to try Houston's. In fact, I ate there twice in four days. The food was very good! I had the pork chop with red cabbage and potatoes and it was fantastic. The chop was grilled and medium rare at the core. I lived in Germany for a few years, so I had pork served that way before and wasn't scared. The chop was 2" think and cooked to perfection. The server we had our first visit was just okay, but on the second visit our server was really good. I will go here again on my next visit.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Houston's also viewed

Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Houston's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Houston's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.