We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad customer service” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Arcodoro

Arcodoro
5000 Westheimer at Post Oak, Houston, TX 77056 (Great Uptown)
(713) 621-6888
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Arcodoro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #468 of 7,487 Restaurants in Houston
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $21 - $40
Cuisines: Italian, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Romantic, Large groups, Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Great Uptown
Cross street: Post Oak
Houston, Texas
1 review
“Bad customer service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

I had dinner by myself at 10:00PM. Service was slow and not courteous. The server forgot my drink. I was asked if I wanted dessert but by the time someone asked me for my choice I was not hungry anymore!! It took forever for the check to be taken care of. I had to pay at the cashier. The manager took care of the check but never said a word or a thank you. It was an overall very bad experience. Nevertheless, the food was good.....

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    26
    11
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lagos, Nigeria
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Amazing pasta and veal!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

Nice simple italian food, if you are after a quality meal then this is a good place to go. Prices are slightly inflated due to location, but decent food.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Interesting Italian Fare”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

I've been all over Italy but I've never been to Sardinia. I suspect if I did go I would find a restaurant very similar to Arcodoro. Much like the Italian language with its regional nuances, Italian food has regional nuances and we all liked the Sardinian flavors we found at Arcodoro. The emphasis on seafood we expected and hoped for was delivered...the Sardinian octopus salad and paella were delicious. Service was attentive...a little pricey but I thought worth it...recommended.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Chartre-sur-le-Loir, France
Top Contributor
251 reviews 251 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
169 helpful votes 169 helpful votes
“Interesting menu”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

I've had mixed experiences here, otherwise I might be tempted to rate it Very Good or perhaps even Excellent.

The food is quite different to your "average" Italian restaurant, and I like that aspect since I get to try things I normally wouldn't. Service has been a mixed bag and not in general brilliant. Rather expensive for the overall experience as well. But try it for the different menu.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Poor service and unfriendly attitude”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

We stopped in for wine and dinner on the patio. We were served wine that had gone bad, so asked for a new glass. The replacement was bad too. Food was overpriced and mediocre. Decided to leave, they tried to charge us for the wine. When we objected, they came back with an even larger check with a "forced gratuity" of 18 percent.
Save yourself the hassle avoid this place else. There is a great spot just steps away, Grand Lux.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Arcodoro also viewed

 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Arcodoro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arcodoro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.