We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“it's just right” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ruggles Cafe Bakery

Ruggles Cafe Bakery
2365A Rice Blvd, Houston, TX 77005 (University Place)
(713) 520-6662
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #654 of 7,288 Restaurants in Houston
Price range: $1 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Neighborhood: University Place
houston, tx
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“it's just right”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

The food at Ruggles Cafe is perfect from the portion sizes to the fresh ingredients. You can get sandwiches and salads and soup and such. I love the tomato basil soup as well as the black bean soup. It's BYOB too.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    31
    8
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Port neches,tx
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
“Yum- Yum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

My family stopped in to try ruggles this labor day weekend and loved it. My wife saw it on line and wanted to try it. We really enjoyed our lunch there. We loved the atmosphere, variety and most of all the portion size. Good food for a good price.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012 via mobile

We loved the food and the treats. It was in a good location and set up nice. The food was presented very nice and the serving sizes were perfect.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Perfect for breakfast.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

Delicious! He had the breakfast croissant and I had the original waffle. It was all wonderful and we'd definitely go back and try lunch or dinner too.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Great lunch spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

Really delicious food. I highly recommend the Grilled Ranch Chicken Sandwich. It's spectacular. I would avoid Evan's Black Bean burger (pretty bland). Overall, a great place to go for a casual meal.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ruggles Cafe Bakery also viewed

Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Ruggles Cafe Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ruggles Cafe Bakery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.