We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yum Yum butter yum yum” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Vista

La Vista
1936 Fountain View Dr, Houston, TX 77057-3206 (Great Uptown)
713-787-9899
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #503 of 7,200 restaurants in Houston
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
Neighborhood: Great Uptown
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Great Uptown
Houston
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Yum Yum butter yum yum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Food is tasty (hello! their website is fatbutter.com), mainly italian but some other options are included.

It's BYOB which I love, with a fairly priced corking fee.

They have an excellent private room that seats close to 20 people. Highly recommend!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

86% Recommend
    11
    9
    1
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great inexpensive restaurant.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

Food was good.
Reasonably priced.
Casual relaxed atmosphere.
BYOB and corkage fee is not expensive.
Overall pretty good. Only criticism was our waiter who seemed somewhat lost.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“A New Twist”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

La Vista's menu lists many old favorites, but the twist is in the preparation and presentation. Delicioous! Take my favorite Shrimp N Grits, but wrap the shrimp in prosciutto and use it to bathe the cheesiest polenta spiked with Grand Marnier. Out of this world good. My husband ordered the Cornmeal Crusted Rainbow Trout which is paired with crab and shrimp enchilada and a wonderful, cilantro poblano citrus sauce, and avocado cucumber relish. Perfect balance.
I can't wait to go back and try other "old favorites".

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
houston texas
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“One of my favorite restaurants”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Great food and you can byob.
Try the mussels in spicy white wine sauce - not on menu but ask for it as the locals often do
If its busy you wait in the parking lot but since there is a liquor store next door with a great wine selection you want get thirsty

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great neighborhood restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

This a great casual restaurant nestled in the corner of a small shopping plaza next to Rice's Epicurean. They have a nice patio area for dining and nicer inside dining area. La Vista is a BYOB, so you can bring your favorite wine to enjoy. They have many wonderful appetizers but opted for the special which was fried oysters topped with pico de gallo accompanied by a sauce. It was absolutely delicious. We also went with one of the dinner specials which was a NY strip served with an apricot cherry sauce served with mac and cheese. Our friend had the Cinnamon Coffee Cumin Crusted Pork Tenderloin, Sweet potato corn pudding,smoked sweet red onion sauce and strawberry. The meal was excellent for all of us. Sorry we didn't have room for dessert but they did appear to be inviting. Service was excellent and friendly. We highly recommend the restaurant.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Vista also viewed

 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to La Vista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Vista, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.