We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Upscale Happy Hour” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Truluck's Steak & Stone Crab

Truluck's Steak & Stone Crab
5350 Westheimer Rd, Houston, TX 77056
(713) 783-7270
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Truluck's Steak & Stone Crab is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #19 of 7,200 restaurants in Houston
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: Barbecue, Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: In between Sage and Yorktown
Description: Discover Truluck’s. An escape for the senses, at sensible prices. Savor the freshest Florida Stone Crab direct from our own fisheries, and a fresh-catch seafood menu updated weekly by our chef. Along with tender, juicy steaks grilled to perfection, and over 100 wines by the sampling, glass, and bottle.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Best Upscale Happy Hour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Truluck's is a wonderful spot for great drinks, excellent service and wonderful live music. Stan, Jason and the other guys behind the bar are top-notch and always greet you with a smile. The food is above-average and the atmosphere is very welcoming.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

87% Recommend
    148
    64
    20
    9
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oswego, Illinois, Usa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Exceptional Seafood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Great crab from Dutch Harbor. Really enjoyed the seared ahi tuna as well. Very nice atmosphere and wonderful service. Very attentive and knowledgeable staff. Would definitely recommend for special occasion dining. Extensive (and expensive) wine list.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Admin Asst Appreciation Luncheon”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

This is a great restaurant! Only negative is it is very loud at lunch time! Affordable prices and great food choices. Great for large groups.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“fantastic sea food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

the place was buzzing and busy so we had to wait for our table but the staff were very accommodating and helpful. it was a bit noisy with the loud music but that didn't go on late into the night. the appetizer platter was great, king crab was the freshest! absolutely mouthwatering. Lobster was far too huge for one portion so better come hungry or maybe share it? desert was massively over-sized - we split one piece of chocolate cake (delicious!) between four of us and there was more left. wine menu - great. overall experience very good and the waiter worked for his tip. would definitely come back and recommend for a business/family/large group dinner venue.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best desserts ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Oh my gosh I don't know where to start about the desserts. It's an extensive list (for me anyway) and I had trouble deciding on what to eat. I ended up with Creme Brulee. Exquisite!!!!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Truluck's Steak & Stone Crab also viewed

Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Truluck's Steak & Stone Crab? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Truluck's Steak & Stone Crab, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.