We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Truluck's Steak & Stone Crab

Truluck's Steak & Stone Crab
5350 Westheimer Rd, Houston, TX 77056
(713) 783-7270
Website
Menu
Update restaurant details
Reserve with OpenTable
Update
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #21 of 7,136 restaurants in Houston
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: Barbecue, Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: In between Sage and Yorktown
Description: Discover Truluck’s. An escape for the senses, at sensible prices. Savor the freshest Florida Stone Crab direct from our own fisheries, and a fresh-catch seafood menu updated weekly by our chef. Along with tender, juicy steaks grilled to perfection, and over 100 wines by the sampling, glass, and bottle.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013 via mobile

I cannot fault this place, the food was fantastic and the service was exceptional. The oysters were fresh (and extremely large!!!) and the mains were truly delicious. A good selection of wines catering for all budgets.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

86% Recommend
    133
    59
    20
    8
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Katy, Texas
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Awesome Steak & Seafood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

WOW, great place to relax and enjoy the evening. The bar was nice to start the evening off with and when we sat down, the food and ambience was excellent. The assorted seafood appetizer was great, then the Crab and Filet was supreb. They forgot to bring out or salad but made up w\ it with the BEST Carrot Cake in the city!! Definitely going back

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Excellent.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

I have been to this restaurant several times, and its always a pleasure. Good food, good service, nice ambience. All you can eat Stone Crab Claws on Mondays· I love their parmesan mashed potatoes. Our waitress Hillary is great, very attentive to details. Food presentation is excellent and the Stone Crabs served on ice are so good. Im in love with the chocolate box dessert,is just great. A nice upscale restaurant, you cant go wrong with Trulucks.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Trulucks is very good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Good Food, not too expensive. Located near the Galleria. Around a long time. They have a variety. I like it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
181 reviews 181 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“We love the whole Truluck's philosophy and the food is consistently great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We like the sustainable approach that Truluck's has related to harvest of their delectable Stone Crab claws... We enjoyed mussels and the sea bass and grouper. The Sonoma Salad captured local Texas pecans, as well as other really good constituents yielding a great mix.

The wine flight of Pinot Noir that I tasted was a great way to discover some new wines. They have an extensive and varied wine list that covers the globe!

We have eaten at Truluck's in La Jolla and Austin, as well as this location and each time we have been treated to exceptional food and service. This return trip was no different.

The parking is a bit tight here, but just a heads up - use the valet to avoid frustration in this busy location!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Truluck's Steak & Stone Crab also viewed

Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Truluck's Steak & Stone Crab? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Truluck's Steak & Stone Crab, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.