We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, vegan options, large portions” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hobbit Cafe

Hobbit Cafe
2243 Richmond Ave, Houston, TX 77098-3308 (Greenway/ Upper Kirby)
713-526-5460
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #294 of 6,949 Restaurants in Houston
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $8 - $30
Cuisines: American, Californian, Vegetarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Neighborhood: Greenway/ Upper Kirby
Lafayette, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Good food, vegan options, large portions”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

I enjoyed my meal here. I had steamed veggies with black beans & brown rice topped with guacamole & salsa. Yummy...but so much food I was eating leftovers for 2 days. Located in an old house with Lord of the Rings themed decorations. Friendly staff too

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    75
    25
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Aurora, Colorado
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Fabulous intro to veggie food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

I first went here in 1978 (yikes!) with a vegetarian roommate at college. Great food, laid-back atmosphere, extremely clever menu. It has moved since then (it was called "The Hobbit Hole" and it originally really was in a little hole of a place with a great tree-covered patio), but its heart remains. It's genuine and trippy at the same time.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Healthy Hobbit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013 via mobile

The hobbit has so many healthy choices for vegetarians and meat eaters. I had fried stuffed peppers as an appetizer, which were flavorful, and an advocado Burger, which was huge and tasty. I couldn't finish it. They even serve shredded carrots on the side if you don't want fries or chips. Service was nice. Parking is a bit challenging as there are many restaurants in the same complex. I would go again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nom nom nom”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

I love Hobbit Cafe! One of my favorite places in the area. They have great vegetarian options, as well as yummy stuff for meat eaters. Good beer selection. Quaint atmosphere. All good things.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forney, Texas, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Interesting indoor outdoor original locational.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

We came because we heard the vegetarian was bountiful. We learned the food was better than expected. Tucked away and worth discovering.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hobbit Cafe also viewed

Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Hobbit Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hobbit Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.